J Friends

Rain is gently pattering our roof, the smell of grass field burning lingers in the air. It’s a day suspended between the long warm summer and crisp autumn. After several days in the high nineties earlier this week today feels good and right. It’s autumn’s turn to shine.

But first, one lingering glance back at the brief campout the last week of August when the nights are already noticeably shorter,  the cold settling heavy in the early morning darkness.

It was a much needed break with a small creek nearby and swimming pond in the bowl of a tree farm. The owners, T & J are letting what were once intended to be Christmas trees grow as sustainable timber. T selectively harvests the trees as they grow with the long term goal of a healthy forest that will produce trees and income for generations, if future owners have the same attitude he has, “manage the forest to be viable for the next 400 years.”

They allow neighbors to ride their horses along the maintenance roads sectioning the different woodlots. Jeanne took me for a walk Saturday morning, she wanted to share a “secret” path they’d made through the trees. The entrance is quite small, they hope the horse people don’t discover these foot trails.wood-path.jpg

Quietly meandering along the shadowed trail, pressed in by trees, I experienced a deep sense of serenity. The silent tree guarded path transported us far from everyday life.

Turning a corner we saw a green banner flung across the trail ahead. berry-banner.jpg

Mmm, a blackberry draped path.wood-berries.jpg

Yesterday as clouds drifted in with the hint of rain scenting the air we turned our attention to gathering ripe tomatoes from the garden, and moving newly delivered firewood into the wood shed Ed built early this summer. First I had to take clippers to the blackberry brambles that had exploded from the ground to hold the tomatoes hostage. They will pop up everywhere the second your back is turned. A wall of brambles is threatening to overtake a back section of our home. At least blackberries give a delicious return for their invasion.

It was a perfect day for outdoor work, and for using the food dryer for all the ripe roma tomatoes. Some of the dried ones will go into a quart jar and covered with extra virgin, cold press olive oil, the rest will be stored in a cool dark place in ziplock bags.

The living room/kitchen remodel is basically finished except for a few finishing details. Pictures will be posted soon. On Tuesday a dear friend is coming over to help me put some wall paper boarder in the kitchen. Earlier this week Jane came over to give me something she made.

knitting-carry.jpg

A folding, carrying knitting basket! She cut and assembled the wood frame and sewed and quilted the fabric – all without a pattern. I feel so honored by this gift of her hands and time.
quilted-carry.jpg

A couple weeks ago I was surprised to find a package in the mail, the bookmy-lady-judge.jpg

Just what I needed! Especially last weekend when I suddenly was struck, totally out of the blue, by a severe sore throat and achy, slightly feverish body. This light, engaging book was savored with joy. Ah, a huge thanks to yet another J friend. 🙂

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle used in weaving Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, and a dozen Great Wheels, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making only spindles. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing a fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays are set aside for worshiping God with our small, Scotts Mills Friends Meeting and occasionally riding our bicycles on sunny afternoons.

11 thoughts on “J Friends”

  1. What a lovely walk! Thanks so much for sharing it; I can almost taste the blackberries. It sounds like a much-needed and much-appreciated break. I hope you’re feeling better! (I’m planning to look for that book myself – it looks interesting…)

  2. I love everything on your post! It’s been 2 years since I was last in B.C. and tasted (actually, pigged out on)blackberries. They are so good on cereal, in muffins, cheesecake, etc! I love the dark mysterious path through the woods, with sun at the other end. And that knitting basket is beautiful. And very useful. Your friend is very talented, and generous.

  3. It’s lovely how a few simple words can transport us across the globe and share the joys of the changing seasons thousands of miles away. Thank you for that – it is one of the joys that always brings my back to blogging. Love the knitting bag/stand – what a generous and talented friend you have!

  4. I love the new knitting basket! I have one similar to this – it belonged to my mum when I was small. I love it dearly, although it’s in somewhat rough shape these days…

    Your photos of the woods are wonderful – walking in the trees is my favourite place to be. :0)

  5. Hi, Wanda —
    Couldn’t find your email, but thanks for the congrats in my comments! (such a relief to have that done) I’m also very glad to know that I’m not the only person who’s ever headed for a gusset without turning a heel first 🙂
    Hope you’re all doing well there!

Leave a comment

Stitching by Moonlight

What I am Crafting, Reading, Watching, Listening to...

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

PDXKnitterati

Michele plays with yarn, food, and music in Portland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tien Chiu

Tien Chiu's website

My Knitting Almanac

A Norwegian knitting enthusiast with a monthly theme for projects

YarnTools

Cross-Arm Spindles by Ed Jenkins for People who Love to Spin!!

The Sound Post

Notes from Caeli Smith, violinist and violist

Warp & Weave

Color courage for weavers

riverrim

A Fiber Related Life

The Ravelled Sleave

A Fiber Related Life

Picperfic's Blog

my photographic life and other stories

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

Cornflower

A Fiber Related Life

Celtic Memory Yarns

A Fiber Related Life

Fiberewetopia

A Fiber Related Life

Boulderneigh

A Fiber Related Life

D a n c e s W i t h W o o l

A Fiber Related Life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.