Numbers crunch

Ta Da! Finished, just in the nick of time.finished-smokin-socks.jpg

Yarn: Fearless Fibers 100% Superwash Merino Wool Sock Yarn
One 4-ounce skein, 550 yards Colorway: Midnight Passion

PatternKnitspot’s Smokin Socks This was a fun pattern to do. I loved the repeating sections. Aurora doesn’t like slouchy socks so I usually make the smallest size in a pattern but next time I’d go up one size since the socks are stretched a bit too much to show the pattern to its fullest.

Needles: #1/2.25mm 16″L Jenkins Circs for one sock, #1/2.25mm Brittany DPN for the other sock.
This was a test to see which I liked better for socks. Frankly I still don’t know. 🙂 They both have their merits. I’ve mostly used dpn so initially I was much quicker with them but once I got the hang of two circs on one sock the speed really picked up. I suspect if I used circs on socks they’d soon be my favorites. But still, there’s something about seeing four needles danging from something so small – it makes sock knitting look so impressive to the unknowing.

Time frame: Began mid July, finished Sept 3rd.
One round = 60 stitches; 6 rounds = 16-18 minutes; Approximate total stitches (didn’t count the heel or toe rows) 18,000.  I started keeping track of stitches and time as the hours ticked away and there was suddenly only a few days to get them done. With a ton of other items to take care of I needed to know how many hours was needed to set aside for the task.

Ten p.m. Monday night the last strand was woven into place. The socks were handwashed and hung to dry the next morning. At 2pm they still weren’t dry so I tossed them in the dryer with a towel. 20 minutes, still not dry. They hung to dry some more until the clock ticked past 4 and still not totally dry so back into the dryer for another 20 minutes. Hmm, barely damp – it’ll do. Wrap them in green paper and tucked them in a shoe box to await the opening of presents. These were so cushy soft once they’d been washed and dried – I wanted to wear them! Fearless Fibers is definitely nice wool! I’m thrilled that there is plenty enough for a scarf. I don’t wear scarves much but this yarn would feel great draped around my neck.

smokin-toe.jpg(This was the first time I’d done a short row heel, and yes, there’s a small gap.)

Aurora’s birthday was Tuesday. She loves wearing hand knit socks especially ones made with love. We feel blessed to have her nearby and to celebrate her birthday with her.

She requested cherry pie, the cherries were from our tree and put into jars. Faith loved it too.
cherry-pie.jpg       faith-cherry-pie.jpg

What else happened Monday? I signed 114 crochet hooks and 36 small circular needles. (Do you know how hard it is to write on a #1 2.25mm needle?) These are for a couple different orders – one huge order (100 items!) is just about packed and ready to ship to a store in the UK tomorrow. What a relief to Ed to have all those items marked off his long list!

Poor guy worked straight through his birthday which was on Saturday the 25th. He got an apple pie (the last of our Gravensteins) to soothe his spirits.apple-pie.jpg

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Numbers crunch”

  1. The socks are gorgeous! As far as the length goes..that’s one I like, not too tall, and not ankle…
    Mmm, pie, cherry, apple…YUM!
    (the jury is still out on the socks on circs here…I do love dpns.)

  2. The socks are lovely. Congratulations on getting them finished in time! (And on not sounding at all bitter to be up at 4 am playing with the dryer; I’m not sure I could do it.) The pies look wonderful. Mmm…

  3. I’ve never tried socks on circular needles, although my sister tried to show me how. I think I’ll stick to my dpns (and sock machine!) I agree, it impresses the heck out of non-knitters when they see all those needles sticking out of the knitting!
    The pie looks delicious and the socks are beautiful. I can tell how much Faith liked her piece!

  4. Wow – the colour of those socks are fantastic. they almost look good enough to eat! I’m a real convert to the magic loop method – especially with a 2 year old who likes to knit by pulling needles out of yor knitting and sticking them into a ball of wool. One circular seems to stop her (fingers crossed!)

  5. Happy belated birthdays all around – the pies look yummy and the socks look fantastic! But I want to know what the tat is – 😀

    I am so far behind on everything – including my blog reading….

  6. What a beautiful color for those socks!

    Thanks for your comment over at my blog. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in the Overestimation Department!

    Cheers!

  7. I love the socks in and of themselves, and I love how they pick up the purple in the rag rug. Puts me in mind of African violets, for some reason.

Comments are closed.