Fiber Thursday

A young mom brought her two homeschooled daughters to Yarn & Yak this morning. This was the third time they’ve come; each girl bringing some type of project. Today they were stringing popcorn and cranberries in preparation of decorating.

After awhile the older daughter showed me the spinning she’s been doing with the spindle she’d bought at Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival. She wasn’t sure what to do with the singles.

I showed her how to make a plying ball with the two ends, which took her no time to wrap.


Soon she had her various singles plyed.

About the boots: They still have almost a foot of snow at their place. Younger sister excitedly told me about sledding and making a snow fort.

I enjoy their enthusiasm and wide ranging curiosity. I’ve started thinking that perhaps I need to have kids’ yarn time during the week, perhaps right after school. My dilemma is having the time and energy to commit to such a venture.

A beautiful quilt for a cat rescue auction was being hemmed, stitching was happening on an appliqué block, there was a gorgeous needlepoint picture in progress.

I got a small start on a pair of sock socks using handspun yarn.


I’m thankful for the gathering of fiber friends and the chance to socialize and relax.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle used in weaving Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, and a dozen Great Wheels, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making only spindles. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing a fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays are set aside for worshiping God with our small, Scotts Mills Friends Meeting and occasionally riding our bicycles on sunny afternoons.

6 thoughts on “Fiber Thursday”

  1. I love spending time with fiber friends. What a blessing to learn and share and laugh and enjoy our creative spirits together. Those socks are looking great so far! ツ

  2. Looks like the young lady chose a beautiful spindle and is taking right to spinning! I keep struggling with my washcloth; at this point I don’t know if I’ll get it finished by the end of the month. But I’m stubborn….

    1. I’m sorry you’re struggling with your handspun washcloth. What size do you want it to be? Check your current gauge and adjust needles and stitch count to find the ideal you’d like.

Leave a comment

Stitching by Moonlight

What I am Crafting, Reading, Watching, Listening to...

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

PDXKnitterati

Michele plays with yarn, food, and music in Portland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tien Chiu

Tien Chiu's website

My Knitting Almanac

A Norwegian knitting enthusiast with a monthly theme for projects

YarnTools

Cross-Arm Spindles by Ed Jenkins for People who Love to Spin!!

The Sound Post

Notes from Caeli Smith, violinist and violist

Warp & Weave

Color courage for weavers

riverrim

A Fiber Related Life

The Ravelled Sleave

A Fiber Related Life

Picperfic's Blog

my photographic life and other stories

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

Cornflower

A Fiber Related Life

Celtic Memory Yarns

A Fiber Related Life

Fiberewetopia

A Fiber Related Life

Boulderneigh

A Fiber Related Life

D a n c e s W i t h W o o l

A Fiber Related Life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.