12.31.23

What happened to posting in 2023? It’s an understatement to say I was shocked to realize that I hadn’t posted even once. I thought for sure I had posted about the shirt I wove.


Some highlights of the year:
A grand baby! Now almost nine months old.

Yarn was spun and a cocoon made for the newborn.

It was wonderful to have Justin, Lacey, and baby come help us at Black Sheep Gathering.

This was the year of the Slow Fashion Spin A Long in our Yarntools Ravelry group. The goal was to spindle spin a pound , or two (spinner’s choice) and make a garment and/or accessory with the goal of using the entire yardage.

I had a bunch of Shetland wool from my friend up the road who wasn’t happy with the roving that the mill blended from her 20 sheep instead of keeping each fleece’s roving separate.
I ended up needed to recomb the entire pound to get rid of tiny nails and slubs. My right hand thumb and wrist became quite painful even with combing only 15 to 28 grams then spinning it. I had to stop spinning and combing for about three weeks and have been much more careful not to overtax my hands with too much handwork.

One pound spun and three-plyed, ca 1236 yards after washing.

I finished the back of the vest yesterday, will begin knitting the front pieces tomorrow. While it was disappointing not to complete the entire project I’m pleased at what I did accomplish.
Pattern: Whimsey Vest by Patti Bobonick

Around a dozen people totally spin and finished their Slow Fashion projects. A couple even spun and made items with two pounds! Using spindles. I am in awe! Check out the Slow Fashion Gallery page to see the finished items.

Local granddaughter was old enough to play on her school’s volleyball team this year. Ed and I attended every game. What a blast to watch her and the teams play. So many memories of playing volleyball for many years. And, to revisit schools I had attended or played in when I was her age before we moved to N Arizona at the end of seventh grade.

I hope to do better at posting in 2024! May there be peace, good health, and contentment!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle used in weaving Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, and a dozen Great Wheels, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making only spindles. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing a fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays are set aside for worshiping God with our small, Scotts Mills Friends Meeting and occasionally riding our bicycles on sunny afternoons.

6 thoughts on “12.31.23”

  1. A belated happy new year to you and yours! It’s a delight to see this recap of your year, so much beautiful making (both textile and family) 🙂

Leave a comment

Stitching by Moonlight

What I am Crafting, Reading, Watching, Listening to...

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

PDXKnitterati

Michele plays with yarn, food, and music in Portland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tien Chiu

Tien Chiu's website

My Knitting Almanac

A Norwegian knitting enthusiast with a monthly theme for projects

YarnTools

Cross-Arm Spindles by Ed Jenkins for People who Love to Spin!!

The Sound Post

Notes from Caeli Smith, violinist and violist

Warp & Weave

Color courage for weavers

riverrim

A Fiber Related Life

The Ravelled Sleave

A Fiber Related Life

Picperfic's Blog

my photographic life and other stories

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

Cornflower

A Fiber Related Life

Celtic Memory Yarns

A Fiber Related Life

Fiberewetopia

A Fiber Related Life

Boulderneigh

A Fiber Related Life

D a n c e s W i t h W o o l

A Fiber Related Life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.