Copper Wire Hairpin Lace

Last week Aurora handed me a bracelet crocheted with copper wire. Immediately I wondered if I could make something similar using hairpin lace technique. In my stash was some 24 gauge copper wire and a container of small green seed beads waiting to be used to try hairpin lace with wire.

Instead of working diligently on the birthday socks for a friend’s upcoming birthday, hairpin lace was on my brain. What can I say? It usually takes at least two weeks to make a pair of sock – if everything goes smoothly. I’d started a pair using the perfect colorway of sock yarn from Ball and Skein and the Dolomite pattern from Knitspot but a few inches later realized the yarn obscured the pattern so then I had to search for a basic pattern the yarn won’t overpower. It’s great yarn, and I found a pattern that will be perfect for my friend. Will be.

Copper hairpin lace intruded.

Copper wire hairpin lace

The loom is set at one inch and I’m using a metal crochet hook size 6. Using wire is definitely not as fast as yarn. It’s not very forgiving and while pliable it has a breaking point that rough handling will quickly meet. Since this is totally a wingin’ it project as well as the first time of using wire in hairpin I learned by doing. First I slipped a bunch of beads on the wire. And all over the floor. I’m still finding them, even after crawling around with vacuum hose in hand. Faith was here Friday -spent the night 🙂 – and I was sure her sharp eyes would spy beads.

Beads on wire is slick – no pushing or coaxing, they slide happily into place.

Making a copper wire hairpin lace bracelet

Ed came in the house late yesterday afternoon as I was finishing the last rows. He obligingly stood behind the camcorder and took some footage.  I still need to edit it but hope to have it in YouTube in a couple of days.

I still need to finish the ends and attach some type of clasp. This was a fun project and I’m eager to do some more.

Jenkins Walnut Hairpin Lace Loom

I know that blogging about the weather isn’t cool. But. Today is April 20th. Right?
This morning’s view in our yard:

April Snow

If you haven’t seen the YouTube video of Ed making knitting needles, please scroll down to link in next post. It’s amazing.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle used in weaving Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, and a dozen Great Wheels, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making only spindles. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing a fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays are set aside for worshiping God with our small, Scotts Mills Friends Meeting and occasionally riding our bicycles on sunny afternoons.

8 thoughts on “Copper Wire Hairpin Lace”

  1. Aye, it’s a clever woman you are! wow! Did Faith find a few beads for you :^D

    April 20th… would you look at that snow! mercy.
    Blogging about weather isn’t cool? I LOVE seeing and hearing about the weather on blogs, so ok, I’m NOT cool :^D….. that’s a beautiful photo!

  2. Ooh, how fun! The bracelet looks gorgeous (I have a crocheted copper bracelet that I love, and I’ve been thinking about trying to knit wire for a while now — a summer project, I think). I hope it warms up VERY soon!

  3. That bracelet is very creative! And I know how one project can get set aside as another one takes ones’ attention. I have several of those on the go right now. My dining room table is kind of smothered with several projects. I hope your snow soon melts.

  4. Wanda, you’ve reminded me how excited I got about wire crochet last year in So Cal. I got all kinds of supplies and then it sort of slipped my mind… Have always loved hairpin lace so here is the perfect opportunity to work along with you!

  5. How unique!! What a wonderful idea. It’s going to be a very special piece of jewelry.

    Thanks for your commment on my “trial” camping! Oh, and relevant to your being a fiddler… I’m going to take an Irish whistle on my hike. I’m learning to play it now. I couldn’t live without a musical instrument for 6 months!

  6. Pingback: Beads

Leave a comment

Stitching by Moonlight

What I am Crafting, Reading, Watching, Listening to...

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

PDXKnitterati

Michele plays with yarn, food, and music in Portland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tien Chiu

Tien Chiu's website

My Knitting Almanac

A Norwegian knitting enthusiast with a monthly theme for projects

YarnTools

Cross-Arm Spindles by Ed Jenkins for People who Love to Spin!!

The Sound Post

Notes from Caeli Smith, violinist and violist

Warp & Weave

Color courage for weavers

riverrim

A Fiber Related Life

The Ravelled Sleave

A Fiber Related Life

Picperfic's Blog

my photographic life and other stories

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

Cornflower

A Fiber Related Life

Celtic Memory Yarns

A Fiber Related Life

Fiberewetopia

A Fiber Related Life

Boulderneigh

A Fiber Related Life

D a n c e s W i t h W o o l

A Fiber Related Life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.