Decisions

I let a woman down this evening, I wish I could have avoided it.

Making reasonable, good decisions in life is sometimes so difficult.

Rarely do I take the time to look at Facebook on Sunday mornings but this morning I was up early. After reviewing my notes and feeling quite prepared for both the adult Bible study and the sermon, I checked Facebook to see about a friend who’s in a rehab facility following surgery. She’d just posted that she was out of fiber to spin, would someone please bring some.
I replied that between all her fiber friends we should be able to get some to her. I added that perhaps I could visit her tomorrow afternoon. Even as I posted I wondered at the wisdom. The drawings for the Bees are at noon. I’d have to be quick at notifying the winners then jump in the car to get there and back before the after school traffic which can be a bear on that 2 lane highway between 3 – 6pm.

At the back of my mind I thought for sure someone else would jump in to say they’d take her fiber today.

Next thing I knew a fiber dyer who lives about 8 miles, in the other direction, posted that she’d supply the fiber – could I please stop on the way to pick it up for her. Suddenly I felt obligated. My innocent, heartfelt suggestion had not gone as I’d imagined when I jumped in with both feet.

Look carefully before leaping!
I thought she was in a town only 23 miles away to the NE of us. When I checked back this evening to see if someone had taken fiber to her she’d posted the name of the rehab center in the west hills of Portland.

A good hour+ drive each way – when the traffic is decent. Add in extra time to pick up the fiber on the way, spinning and chatting with her, then coming back on I-5 after 3:30pm the odds are high that the traffic will be thick and slow.

The final nail in deciding that I couldn’t realistically go was looking on google maps only to find that the rehab is in area where I always got lost when we lived in Portland years ago. The roads are a maze winding up and down around the hills. I played A league softball at one of the big parks up there. I never did figure out a good way to get to the park without getting lost! After a couple of weeks I dropped to a B team category so I could play closer to home and not deal with roads in West Hills. That was in ’85, I haven’t been back up there since. I can only imagine how much worse it is now.

No, we don’t have GPS.                                  (son and grandson geocaching)

I don’t think I’d feel so bad if I knew her well. We know each other through chatting a few times at fiber festivals and at guild meetings. But I have a tender spot in my heart for her. I care that she’s feeling lonely and trying to be patient. Spinning has been a solace while there.  She did write she’s hoping the doctor will release her to go home on Tuesday when she next sees him. I read that post this evening.

It’s been a long day. I missed the quiet, non-scheduled afternoon. We had our first music practice this afternoon for the upcoming Christmas sing-along. We also be playing for the town’s Christmas tree lighting in the park. Outside. It’s interesting trying to play a string instrument with cold fingers.
I will hold her in my prayers especially that she will be able to go back home on Tuesday. It’s time to let go of feeling distressed at letting her down.

Instead, I’ll focus on what I have to be grateful for.
Grateful for:
– God understanding the intentions of my heart and He still loves me even when I blow it.
– a decent music practice even when I wasn’t prepared as I should have been.
– a good Sunday school/Bible study and service this morning
– this blog where I can spill some of my thoughts
– Snowflake laying across my shoulders, purring in my ear.

Stitching by Moonlight

What I am Crafting, Reading, Watching, Listening to...

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

PDXKnitterati

Michele plays with yarn, food, and music in Portland

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Tien Chiu

Tien Chiu's website

My Knitting Almanac

A Norwegian knitting enthusiast with a monthly theme for projects

YarnTools

Cross-Arm Spindles by Ed Jenkins for People who Love to Spin!!

The Sound Post

Notes from Caeli Smith, violinist and violist

Warp & Weave

Color courage for weavers

riverrim

A Fiber Related Life

The Ravelled Sleave

A Fiber Related Life

Picperfic's Blog

my photographic life and other stories

KDD & Co

Award-winning Scottish publishing and design

Cornflower

A Fiber Related Life

Celtic Memory Yarns

A Fiber Related Life

Fiberewetopia

A Fiber Related Life

Boulderneigh

A Fiber Related Life

D a n c e s W i t h W o o l

A Fiber Related Life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.