The Beauty Around Us

Snowflake, the new kitty I wrote about on Nov 2  is somewhere around 7 months, today was his appointment with the vet.

We borrowed a cozy cloth kitty carrier a couple days ago and placed it where he could access it at will. When it came time to take him to town this morning he didn’t make a fuss, or a noise.

We’ve had two days of blustery weather, winds and pelting rains then the winds would part the clouds, sweep them into intriguing formations in an ever changing sky full of reflecting light and shadows.

Driving home this afternoon, after retrieving Snowflake, the clarity of the distant mountains captured my attention. I turned onto a lesser used farm road in search of a good place to pull over and gaze at them.
Can you make out the ridges, folds, and basins, the snow on the highest levels? The picture doesn’t do justice to the grandeur of the sharp details of the mountains that I gazed at this afternoon.

I only wish had taken my trusty old Sony camera with its excellent distant zoom feature. The cell phone camera doesn’t have nearly the zoom feature needed, nor the clarity when zooming. Perhaps Thursday or Friday, after this next round of heavy rains and winds I’ll drive out that way again, this time with the Sony.

I am grateful to have seen the mountains this afternoon, and so very grateful to live in a place that has so much beauty!

Pictures below taken two weeks ago when visiting an elderly friend.

