Back to the Beginning

Four more rounds were knit.
The gusset was well started when I knew…Still too big.

The generous positive ease doesn’t show up in the picture but it was there. My daughter likes her fingerless gloves snug.

The other factor was how the straight stockinette showed off the colors which were muted in the waves.

They’ve been frogged. I’ll use lace weight yarn with less color changes to make her some gloves to use at work.

I really like this yarn and am keen to make something before November is over. I better figure out what hat to knit.

Strong winds and rains have been blowing about since last night with numerous short breaks. My neighbor JG and I were thrilled when to have calmer weather at our regular walking time. We didn’t get quite to the top of the hill before the gusts came back whipping the firs, oaks and maples lining the road. Some smaller branches flew through the air causing us to rethink continuing up through those trees as the wind is always stronger up there.

I was astonished that all day long the helicopter assisting in the Christmas tree harvesting continued its circling round and round gathering bundles of trees then dropping them off at the staging lot next to the road.  A very skilled, and fearless pilot must have been at the controls.

Here’s a better picture of the wolfhound, Seana, taken today.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Back to the Beginning”

    1. You should see how people look at Seana as we’re out walking! Lots of people will stop and ask about her. It’s rather fun. She’s considered a bit small for an Irish wolfhound but she’s big enough!

      I sat down this morning to listen to an online sermon from one of my favorite preachers, Alistair Begg – Truth for Life, with the intent to begin the hat. Instead I found myself starting another fingerless glove, but this time it’s a basic one. 🙂

  1. What a beautiful dog. Thanks for sharing the picture of your walking buddies. You are so right…the stockinette looks really nice and will showcase that beautiful handspun yarn.

  2. Hi Wanda!

    Could I ask you what yarn you are using? I love the colors, the gold, the green, the brown. I would love to find some of this yarn!

    Thank you!

    Dawn

    Lake Oswego, Oregon

    ________________________________

    1. Hi Dawn, thanks – the colors are gorgeous – such a great reflection of the autumn colors all around us. Unfortunately there isn’t a commercial yarn. I spun this yarn with fiber purchased from Marianne Cant of Picperfic in the UK. I’ll post all the details in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

