Patterns and a Designer

Sunday I went through all my patterns for hats, scarves and fingerless gloves noting those that could be done with less than 140 yards. The list was weeded down to two: Selah’s Zig Zag Hat, by Susan Black, and  Amanda’s Christmas Wristlets. I had thought one of these would at least be cast on and a good start made today.

This morning an email notifying of a “Like” by Nothingbutknit2. A link to one of her post titles caught me attention so I clicked on Sunday Suggestion.

Am I glad I did! Blog author, Karen had written about a knitter/designer/spinner, Jenjoyce who’d lost her house, and everything, escaping with only her husband, dog and a few possessions, in the horrific firestorm that swept through Santa Rosa and the mountains of that area in N. California.

It’s hard to know how to help when these types of disasters happen. We can give to responsible, reputable organizations that are already in place but it seems more personal when we can directly help someone, even a little bit. Friends had reached out to Jen to ask what they could do, how they could help.  I encourage you to read for yourself Jen’s posts about the fire; see the pictures of the land she called home, her knitting/walking trails, the house that she and her husband built. They built, themselves over years of weekends and vacations.

The answer? Support her by buying one (or many!) of Jenjoyce Design patterns.

Jen has designed many lovely patterns to choose from! Jen has designed mittens, socks, cowls, scarves, leg warmers, hats, cardigans, sweaters, t-shirts, vests…I did use some restraint.
Tomorrow I’ll cast on for the first one, either the Altitude Mitts – Lace, or the Altitude Mitts – Ridges. These aren’t the only patterns I fell in love with and purchased. I hope numerous people will step up, buy some patterns; to give her a measure of hope for the future.

