A Day of Rest

This week God has been impressing on me the need to “cease striving and know that I am God.” Ps 46:10

He longs to communicate with us but He doesn’t use loud winds, earthquakes or fires – we hear Him best when we’re quiet.

Following church service on Sunday mornings I like to rest. To be quiet, to think, read, and listen. I often knit or spin as those activities can clear space in my head enabling me to listen better.
Sometimes Ed and I will go for a leisurely bike ride, or I join my neighbor for a walk but usually it’s an afternoon of relaxing, of stepping away from work and expectations.

It’s not easy with the frenetic pace that so easily entangles us! I have to intentionally make space. To slow down, be still, see the beauty of God’s creation, to know Him.

I want to cultivate peace. In my inner life, in my home and with others.

I hope you’ve taken the day to rest, to be recharged, renewed.

Pictures taken during a morning walk in late October.
Scotts Mills Friends Church

