Spinning Alpaca

The fifth skein of the alpaca project has been spun, soaked and dried. This latest one is the colorway is called Midnight; it’s the second from from the right.dsc04589April ’15 I bought some alpaca/silk roving from Upstream Alpacas at a daylong, local spin-in where Christine had a table. As soon as the roving began slipping through my hands I feel in love and ordered another 4 ounces. It didn’t take long before I knew I wanted to spin enough to weave material for a skirt, perhaps a matching short jacket ensemble.  So far there are over 3200 yards. I’m not sure about the skein on the right. That roving was ordered online and turned out brighter than I’d anticipated. Yet, it might be interesting to have a pop of color in the cloth.

At times my plan is to use a black alpaca yarn (yet to be spun) for the weft, but that idea gets shoved aside in favor of a plaid scheme. It’ll be good to weave samples of various colors layouts and design. There’s still the 4 ounce braid of black  roving to be spun up. I might get another final braid before I call it enough, probably another Midnight so the dark will be dominant. These have all been spun using my Louet Victoria.

A different color sequence. This layout seems more pleasing to my eye. I’m open to thoughts and opinions.
dsc04591Ed and I had read about drinking a banana blended with hot water and cinnamon for a good night’s sleep. Not crazy about the weak taste of the hot banana water I’ve been adding hot milk to the blender, as well as some vanilla, ginger, turmeric and a bit of black pepper for an all around healthy bedtime drink. Rather tasty and it does seem to help. 
dsc04521Today I’m thankful for the blessing and comforts of home.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Spinning Alpaca”

  1. I might have to try that drink; I sometimes feel rather desperate about sleeping better. Last night Rick had a lot of “conflict” dreams, waking me up frequently with his muttered condemnations and restless arms and legs. 😦

  2. What beautiful yarn! It will make a wonderful skirt (or ensemble), light yet warm, and absolutely unique! I agree that the pop of color brought on by that brighter red will be nice, whether you go for a plaid or a different color scheme. When I saw your skeins, my first thought was that it would make a great mixed color warp, inspired by what Diane Palme does with her own warps (you can see a great example in this post on her blog: http://blog.schafenfreude.com/?p=389 and another one in her blog header), with a black weft. No matter what direction you finally decide to go in, it will be lovely – how could it not be? – and I’m looking forward to seeing the next steps in your project as it develops.

  3. Oh, and your nighttime drink! That mix of flavors does sound delicious, indeed, and the whole thing seems absolutely perfect at this time of year to warm up before going to bed. Thank you for sharing it!

Comments are closed.