Walking Spinning

The turtle singles and plyed balls that I posted about on the 24th, now skeined and pictured below, came to approximately 393 yards.

Here they are before the warm soapy bath to set the twist.

dsc04593

Fresh from the bath, wrung out and laid next to previously skeined spindle-spun-while-walking yarn that have been accumulating over the course of several years, spun using two of Ed’s early standard Turkish spindles. (What we call Swans.) I don’t spin when it’s raining during our walks – a common occurrence in NW Oregon, and I’ve been quite sporadic about taking my spindle and wool with me.
All together now there are approximately 860 yards. There is still have another turtle waiting for a last spindle full to ply it with which might take the yardage close to 1000. Instead of the sweater I’d originally set out to make this yarn might be used for a vest.

dsc04595
The three skeins hanging to dry.

dsc04597

Thankful for the satisfaction of being able to spin yarn that will eventually be a piece of clothing.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Walking Spinning”

    1. Good question, thanks for asking. The early skeins of this project were plyed with my spindle but these last three skeins were wheel spun the other day. I want to get to the knitting stage. 🙂

  1. I doubt I’m as proficient at walking and spindling as you are, but I do love to multi-task at two worthwhile pastimes. I’m test-driving my lilac Aegean today; I should get on the treadmill tonight for more.

    1. Walking and spinning are terrific at working the core muscles. 🙂
      I’ve not yet tried it on a treadmill, that would take some getting used to.

  2. Beautiful yarn! I can already picture you going for your morning walk wearing the vest or sweater it’s about to become, and spinning for the next garment…

Comments are closed.