Small Musings

I’m so exhausted it’s hard to focus so this will be a short post.

Going to bed just after midnight made for a very short night. I know better than having any coffee in the evening, never mind that it smelled enticing during the music practice. It was only half a cup. A very strong cup of coffee. Whoops. Between that and music dancing through my head I was awake more than asleep for the mere five hours I laid in bed before finally just getting up to do some studying. Usually when that happens it’s extremely frustrating but last night, for the most part I enjoyed thinking of/listening to the songs and focused on what it means to be thankful and how to really apply that to the gnitty-gritty of everyday life. This morning’s sermon was on being thankful based on I Thess 1:2-10. Good stuff.

A hat is on the needles for my son. No pictures, yet, once I get into the cable section I’ll try to remember to take a picture. The Brother KH-970 Knitting Machine I’ve been considering is still under consideration. The woman wrote that it has lots of accessories, including a ribber, and over 600 preprogrammed patterns – all which she’d throw in for less than they’re worth but they’d take the total up beyond what I’d originally expected. She’d give me the tote of yarn spools. Which may, or may not be a good thing. I seem to have a knack for accumulating yarn that I don’t use – wrong size, color, material, etc.  I keep going back and forth on the pros and cons. The biggest drawback is it is electric which I’m not keen on since who know how long it will last before things start breaking down.

Two more pictures from the June drive to Central Idaho. These were taken from the Oregon side of the Columbia River as we traveled I-84.

A huge stone house perched way up on a hillside in Washington State overlooking vineyards and the river.

dsc03332
The Columbia River, a west bound train, and giant turbines harvesting the wind into energy. 
dsc03344

Today I’m thankful for church family / friends that help keep me grounded and challenged.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.