Thankful

This evening was music practice for the Christmas Acoustic Sing-along and now suddenly it’s closing in on midnight. Sunday morning is going to be here all too soon considering how early I normally get up on Sundays.

It’s been a good day. Much of my focus has been on being thankful. Filled with thanks. Gratitude. Not a bad thing to think about while doing chores, writing on spindles, office work, baking a cake and a large panful of sweet potatoes with cranberries in a sauce of butter and apple cider for the Thanksgiving potluck after church tomorrow.

When a person works at being thankful, well, that don’t leave a whole lot of room for negative thinking. It’s not a matter of putting on rose-colored glasses or glossing over difficult stuff.  Even while acknowledging the hard things, even working through some of those hard situations and conflicts, rather than go in crazy circles over things I can’t control or change I can chose to be thankful for all that is good.

Looking forward to a new day dawning and whatever it may hold. 
dsc04252
I have much to be thankful for.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

1 thought on “Thankful”

Comments are closed.