Knitting Consideration

I’m a slow knitter. Wanting to make more sweaters I’ve been wishing I was a lot faster, and had more time. This evening Ed came home from fixing and serving food — as he does every Wednesday at a church that provides the good, from scratch meal to any one who wants a hot meal for free, or a donation, no questions asked, just lots of compassion, companionship and love handed out with each China plateful. They routinely serve between 450 to over 500 every week.

Oops, got off track there… Ed came home and told me that one of the cooks has a friend who’s selling one of her knitting machines. Not just any machine but a Brother KH-970. Supposedly a very good, though from the pictures it looks like it’s somewhat older machine. The woman also has a top of the line machine. She makes and sell sweaters at a decent profit.

I’m seriously considering buying it; weighing the pros and cons.  Ed seems to be in favor. It’s not cheap and there’s the rub, especially with some medical bills coming our way. The only way I could justify buying it would be to devote the time to learn to properly use it to the point where I could get good enough to make and sell sweaters. I love the idea.  Is it feasible? I’d have to figure out better time management and self-discipline to be able to pull it off.

The timing is interesting. I’ve been thinking about what I could do to contribute financially. I do have another part time job, as of August, which I’m thrilled about and love (more about that in a future post). The income pays for our health insurance with a small portion set aside for that rainy day fund.

This is something to seriously consider and pray about!

These volunteer violas (my mom always called them Johnny Jump-Ups) are blooming in a ditch alongside Grandview Rd. In mid-November with the snow levels coming down to 3500 feet in the mountains and the cold sinking into the valleys.dsc04397
Thankful today for possibilities, and sweet reminders of Springtime with its abundance of new life.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Knitting Consideration”

  1. I bought a knitting machine when I lived in New York. It never made it out of the box. I realized that what I loved about knitting was feeling the yarn in my hands, and that it went places with me, and I was never going to tie myself to the table where the knintting machine was. Back to the store it went.

    I love that your church has a meal program. Kudos to them.

    And my little azalea bush is blooming. Spring? Fall? Whatever!

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience! These are good valid points. I’m most reluctant about the thought of another large fiber item taking up precious room in our already too full house. Finding a place to store it when not in use, or a spot for it to permanently reside in use or not would be a challenge.

      Amazing that your azalea is blooming! Tonight’s temperature going down into the thirties should convince the plants that winter’s coming.

  2. I’ve got 2 knitting machines sitting under our bed! One is a Bond, that knits thicker yarns, double knitting upwards. The other is a Toyota that I won in a competition – when I told my Mum she said “Shame it wasn’t a car!” It knits 4 ply downwards, also has a lace carriage, but I’ve never been brave enough to try that. When I won the Toyota I was able to enroll at a local college on a machine knitting course – this was pre-internet days, so no useful YouTube videos! I think our teacher was very good. She demonstrated how to do everything, then we had homework to do.

    Find space where you can leave the machine set up if possible, that way you can run off a few rows whenever you pass – it really is amazing how quickly the fabric grows! Does the machine you’ve been offered have a ribber? Mine doesn’t, but you can do a false ribbing that looks pretty good.

    It’s very quick to run off tension swatches, I used to separate each swatch with a contrast colour, do about 5 varying the controls, then allow to relax (ideally should be washed and blocked but back then I didn’t have enough time) and measure, I had some sort of gizmo for counting the rows and stitches, must be knocking around somewhere – still not sorted any of my crafting or fabric stuff since we moved, the last 5 years have been difficult.

    Suggest you try out a machine to see how you feel about it. I suspect anyone with arthritis in hands would find them painful to use.

    I knitted several sweaters for my daughters with the Bond machine – double knitting, and machine washable wool – essential for kids! 😉 Much better quality than shop bought sweaters, cost about the same, but these were 100% wool against shop acrylic, so far nicer. Now my girls have kids of their own they still remember their stripey sweaters! 🙂

    The other thing you might think of knitting is soft furnishings. Cushions are only simple squares or rectangles, so need no shaping (it’s the shaping takes the time), and knitted curtains could be really sumptuous, though probably very expensive! 😉

    I live in hopes that I will get time to use my machines again.

    1. Thank you so much for your input, Maggie. This type of hands-on, experienced feedback is very helpful! It won’t be such a hard decision if it was located close by where I could actually see it and be walked through how it operates with the seller.

Comments are closed.