A Blue Shirt

With all the living that happened during the long silence between postings from the beginning of May until in September followed by another 6 week gap there’s a wealth of fodder for these daily posts.
Early in May I started knitting a summer shirt that I hoped to have finished by the June shows.

It’s another Feather and Fan Ribbed Tee by Judy Croucher, this time knit with Hempathy yarn which is 40% hemp, 40% cotton, 20% modal. Some of you may remember that I’d knit this same pattern in 2015 (posted here).
I loved the sweater and the color but the width of the neck and the weight of the extra length sleeves made it continually slip over my narrow shoulders.
dsc02989
This time around I modified the neck opening to make it narrower and only added a few extra rows on the sleeves instead of the seven additional rows I’d put on the rose shirt. Even so it still had the tendency to want to slip over my shoulders I’ve never been a fan of. Even as a small child I liked having my shoulders and upper arms covered, unless I was wearing a tank top or swimming suit. (Funny, the odd quirks a child will develop for no apparent reason!) Eventually the slippage was fixed by adding a couple rows of crocheted chain stitch across the back shoulder neck area holding the shoulders firmly in place. dsc03483This is one of those shirts that I can toss into the washing machine followed with a brief tumble in the dryer before air drying it.  I’m beginning to scheme about another shirt or sweater for myself. Wearing something constructed by hand very satisfying.

Tonight is the when the moon is closest to earth in decades. Wouldn’t you know it, it’s raining outside. No view of the super moon in our valley. The rain quietly drumming on the roof and window is a peaceful sound instead.

I hope you all have had a peaceful, quiet Sunday with no turmoil in your life.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.