Tree on wood

One of my favorite tasks in our spindle business is recording in a journal then writing the information on the bottom of the spindles after I’ve weighed them. Writing with either the fine black Pilot 500 pen or with acrylic ink, stylus and nib on dark woods, is soothing, with the exception of certain woods that have grain which catches the fine tip of the writing utensil: Zebrawood  and purple heart woods are among the worst.

A peaceful task that takes place at the kitchen table.dsc04225
Earlier this year I was inspired to add a few musical notes on an Aegean. Ed was delighted with the results and asked me to continue adding designs as the mood struck.

I’ve loved trees as far back as I can remember. All types of trees, in all the seasons. In sixth or seventh grade I tried to figure out how to draw them. Eventually I could do passable bare-branched trees. Feeling extremely inadequate it wasn’t long before I stopped drawing much of anything except rare attempts at small pictures from time to time.

Recently I was drawn to drawing trees once again. After much practice drawing tiny trees on paper I finally drew one on a spindle. Ed liked it. Occasionally, when I’m feeling very brave, I’ll attempt to render a tree on a spindle.

So far this one is my favorite.
dsc04181
Feeling grateful for creativity and the ability to learn new skills.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Tree on wood”

  1. How lovely to see that the spindle-making has turned into a creative collaboration involving both you and Ed!

    Reading that you’ve always loved trees reminded me of a book I came across a little while ago, which I think would interest you too: The Hidden Life of Trees, by Peter Wohlleben. I haven’t read it yet, so I’m only recommending it on the basis that the description makes it seem fascinating – enough so that it jumped to the top of my own wishlist. If you ever end up reading it, let me know what you think!

Comments are closed.