Day Seven

November writing is off to a solid start with a post has been written every day the first week.

Yesterday I posted a picture of the almost finished boots on my personal Facebook page and had three people want to make some. My enthusiasm took the upper road as I replied to them and started planning on a several hour workshop in my head.

This morning as I was fine-tuning the fit of the boots it struck me: the workshop I took cost $300 plus over $40 in material fees. Granted, it was a 12 hour workshop. Still, I can’t justify teaching even an abbreviated workshop of 4 – 5 hours without charging a basic cost for the class, plus I’d need to buy enough roving for the participants, another cost I can’t afford to absorb right now when our business already taking a major cut in the transition from direct sales to wholesale. I took the class with the long-term goal of not only making felted foot gear for our family but with the idea of eventually recouping the huge cost of the workshop.

Neither Ed nor I are good business people as far as watching the bottom line and drawing firm boundaries. I agreed to teach a one-hour beginning class this Saturday at the terrific local yarn shop, for free, to help the store drum up local enthusiasm for our spindles. As anyone who has taught knows, the teaching hour is just the tip of the iceberg. There’s the prep work, arriving early to set up and staying long enough to answer questions and pack up. While I’m very happy to do this quick intro to spinning it’s easy to get overextended, something I need to guard against when the compensation isn’t worth the time and effort as I already struggle to have the energy to accomplish my responsibilities. We’ll see how the clammer to learn to felt boots/slippers turns out in the months to come.

Today I started Chained three-ply using the Corriedale roving left over from the felted boots to make cord for the boot fasteners.

dsc04453

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

1 thought on “Day Seven”

  1. Teaching does take a lot of time and energy, and it absolutely needs to be compensated fairly. Learning from a good teacher is so valuable! I’ve paid for felting workshops in the past, and would happily do so again. I’d also be happy to pay for your intro to spinning class, even though I’m not a complete beginner (well, I’ve been one for years, now…), because it’s very likely that a detail you’d mention or a comment you’d make would make one more thing click for me, and my spinning would benefit from it. If only I lived closer…

Comments are closed.