Wednesday Walk

Perhaps it was the much dryer than normal year, until October, that produced an abundance of brightly colored leaves. During the morning walks my neighbor and I have marveled at how intensely beautiful autumn has been this year. The native deciduous trees in this area don’t have the gorgeous bright palette of New England woodlands, instead their leaves are mostly yellows, with some bronze, muted greens and occasional splashes of red, copper and burgundy, but this year they have been putting on a lovely show.

Looking up the hill at the Friends Church from just beyond our property as I meet my neighbor and her dog.
dsc04260
We walk up the main road to the next block above the church,
dsc04266

Then turn right onto the lane that winds diagonally along the ridge,

dsc04268
Along the wide hedge of wild blackberry brambles
dsc04272
Into the tunnel of trees
dsc04273
Steadily up to the sharp corner turning to the short, steep climb near the crest of the ridge
dsc04278
Where the lane passes houses tucked along the way. 
dsc04296
The southwest corner where the ridge road connects back to the main road is this large field. The patch of yellow in the center catches our attention. What yellow flowers, which looked quite like daffodils from this distance, were blooming at this season?

dsc04297
Today I’m thankful for the beauty of nature, including this Autumn flower that reminds me of Spring.
dsc04301

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

One thought on “Wednesday Walk”

Comments are closed.