Writing Month

November. Attempting a post per day. Writing each day last November was a great discipline. My lack of posting this year is appalling. Dreaming of writing, words shift through my head during the day only to be stifled come evening.

This past weekend was spent at the Columbia Gorge Fiber Festival where I had a blast taking a fabulous workshop, and also became exhausted by some too-late nights. Yesterday, after being dismissed early from jury duty (hallelujah!) and feeling like I might be coming down with the cold Ed’s been fighting I took an afternoon nap, then slept 10 hours, straight through the night. All that sleep was needed for a good day of office work, some housecleaning and laundry, and a brisk morning walk.

Projects: The knitting was finished last week, the spinning… gracious! It was entered into the spinning log in 2012!  I love to spin but too often the yarn languishes until that certain project comes along that is just right for it.

40 gram cake of handspun Picperfic 60% Polwarth, 40%alpaca roving spun into 128 yards of 2-ply, waiting to be made into a sweet something for a granddaughter’s Christmas.

dsc04228

Turned into this:  (The yarn cake above better reflects the true color of the yarn.)
dsc04319
Pattern: Pretty Thing by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Her blog story of it.

Since the cowl is for a 10 year old #3 needles were used and one section of the middle pattern repeats omitted. This slightly shorter size looks terrific folded 1/3rd so the scallops are layered. I admit the temptation to keep it for myself.

Today I’m thankful for the sunny day, after a very wet October, right there at the top of October record rainfall. Some of the lighter laundry was even hung out to dry and soak in the sunshine. Bliss.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Writing Month”

  1. This is so lovely Wanda!! She will love it, and now you have something you can knit for yourself with another handspun yarn.

  2. I totally understand wanting to write more, and more often, and not finding the way to make it happen… (Been there, done that – well, still am there doing that, actually!) Good for you for committing to making it a priority by deciding to post every day! And good for us, since that give sus the chance to read you. 🙂

    It was obviously worth the wait for this little cake of handspun: it made for a really nice Pretty Thing! I love the idea of folding it to layer the scallops, it must indeed be really cute. I highly doubt that you’ll get it back from your granddaughter…

    1. It’s definitely a challenge! There are many evenings when I scramble to pull something together.
      Perhaps I should wrap the Pretty Thing up now since it keeps tempting me. Or, make another one for myself with the handspun.

Comments are closed.