Swimming in Blankets

Once again an insane amount of time has passed since I last wrote. How does this happen? The water continues to flow under the bridge a couple of blocks away, fiber slips through my fingers, stitches and loops joining together, spindles handled and mailed. The minutes, days and months slip by.

In that time not one but two Mermaid Blankets were made. Seeing the first one made for 9 year old Feather, 4 year old Violet wanted one too. Not only are they cuddling in them during the evenings they take them to bed with them which made the making of them so worth the time.
#1 Mermaid Blanket crocheted for Feather. (I can’t find the picture that her mom posted on FB of her in it.)
DSC02397

#2 Mermaid Blanket finished just in time for Violet’s 4th birthday.DSC02344

So much so that I offered to make the grandson a shark blanket. Unfortunately I ran out of yarn coming into the second fin and am still waiting for more to arrive.
DSC02741
Since late last year our Grandson’s 2nd grade teacher has been giving students a poem every week which they have to read out loud so many times a day, to different people. As a result he calls at least twice a week to read us the poem of the week. Every time he calls now he asks if I’m working on his blanket. That yarn had better be in the mail tomorrow!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Swimming in Blankets”

  1. It’s nice to see your blankets getting so much love! I’m sure they’re totally feeling the big warm hug from grandma that these mermaid blankets really are…

    I love the assignment your grandson has received! As a student, having to read a poem aloud so many times to different people would have made so much more sense to me than having to learn it by heart without any meaningful context, and all those repetitions mean that learning it would still have happened. As an auntie, now, I would love to get poetry reading phone calls from my niece and nephews! That’d be such a brilliant way to help us stay in touch more often.
    Enjoy those poetry readings while they last! And I hope you’ll soon be able to tell your grandson that you’ve received the yarn and his blanket is almost done!

  2. I applaud your grandson’s teacher for encouraging poetry reading.
    Those mermaid and shark blankies are adorable!

Comments are closed.