Leap Year

It certainly feels as though the year is leap-frogging and skipping over the weeks.

We’re looking into the face of March, the month with several birthdays, the annual Irish gig, crunch time for organizing tax paperwork, yard work and getting a start in the garden.

Priorities and scheduling, landing on routines that are doable.

The Mermaid blanket I mentioned my granddaughter wanting? It took a long time to figure out what yarn to use. When it came I dug into my crochet hook bag only to discover that I had NO size Q hooks, or any other bigger ones. How was this even possible? My husband spent well over a decade making crochet hooks. Thousands of them. I have none that size? So much for being generous with those I had. Somehow I thought I had more on hand. Allison of Ageary Woodworks came to my rescue and made me a Q / 15.75mm hook. An email letting her know what I needed, along with payment arrangements was sent to her. Within a couple of weeks a hook was in the mail. Allison is the young woman whom Ed taught to make the hooks and needles eventually taking over that business from us.

The fin is finished, the body about half-way along. The pattern suggests it would take “approximately 2.5 – 5 hours to make depending on size, skill and speed.” Apparently I’m lacking skill and speed. The fin was ripped back at 3 times before I finally figured out I was reading the instructions wrong. (Completely my fault). The body of the blanket is coming along nicely but it’s still be ridiculously time-consuming considering I thought the entire thing would be done within a week. Easily. Ummmm, no.
DSC02121It will be soft and cuddly, and machine washable.

We’ve had a very mild winter with lots of sunshine interspersed with copious rain. Daffodils are blooming. The plum tree next to our bedroom is beginning to bud. Daphnes have been fragrancing the kitchen.

Last Friday Violet and I visited some lambs during a lovely outing where we got to feed and pet the sheep. Some of their processed wool even came home with me.

They crowded into the barn when we first arrived hoping for some handouts.
DSC02105

DSC02107
DSC02118

DSC02110
Some of the ewes and their lambs in one pasture.
DSC02109
Jan likes to raise crossbreeds of CVM, Romeldale and Merino mixes to get sheep with various colorings, a fine wool with good crimp, and a nice hand.
DSC02103

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Leap Year”

Comments are closed.