December 2015

After finishing the handspun socks in November I set out to knit up a quick hat with the leftover yarn.
The beginning of a knook/crochet hat for my granddaughter.DSC01142
A couple rounds after taking this picture enthusiasm evaporated. It was frogged. Stitches were cast on with knitting needles stitches starting with an earflap.

About then granddaughter, Feather, informed me that she’d love, love, love a crocheted mermaid blanket. Grandson, Wes, wanted a crocheted shark blanket. Patterns were found, bought and printed. Reading the type and amounts of yarn necessary for two such beasts, er, blankets my heart sank. Acrylic yarn held double-stranded.

All knitting/crocheting/weaving mojo disappeared. The busy Advent season was suddenly less busy and time appeared for other activities:

The first Christmas letter in years was written and mailed to far-flung family.
A gingerbread train was decorated with Violet,DSC01310
DSC01332
Christmas carols and tunes fiddled
DSC01343
to a church full of people singing upstairs,DSC01353

eating and visiting downstairs.
DSC01365

A tree was decorated,
DSC01426
Presents were wrapped.
DSC01460
Turtles of singles were plyed, soaked and hung to dry.

The clouds burned off Christmas morning giving us the first day of sunshine in 24 days, perfect for a cold Christmas day bicycle ride.
DSC01512All but a couple of the main paths were flooded by the 22 foot higher than normal Willamette River, the swift current racing across the path showing its power.
DSC01527
Puzzles piecedDSC01542

Brisk walks taken with my neighbor. We were so grateful for sunshine after 24 consecutive days of rain which dumped a record amount of almost 16 inches rainfall in the month of December.
DSC01613

Even with the seemingly endless days of rain December 2015 was a very good month.

Tomorrow I need to firmly settle back into the work saddle, pick up the reins and settle back into a good work routine.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “December 2015”

  1. Looks like you had a most wonderful holiday! I love all the pictures…so many wonderful memories there.

    Happy New Year!

    :O)

  2. Wanda, We’ve been on the road over the past couple weeks so I’ve not been on the computer. But I did think of you on your birthday, and want to wish you a happy, belated birthday!

  3. I loved reading your recap of December. The photos of Oregon’s waterways and mossy rocks is making me quite homesick.
    Have you settled in to knitting those afghans and blankets yet?

Comments are closed.