Thirtieth Day

Thirty days with a post each day this past month.

As we teeter on the edge of December I am considering recording some flash-backs to significant times and events. This month I’ve looked back on posts from previous years and appreciate the value of gathering memories, pictures and thoughts in one place.

Writing daily has been a struggle at times: Carving out the time, deciding what to share, how personal to get. Often during the day a topic tumbles through my brain but by evening I shy away and stay with the easy, quick thoughts. I believe that I’m ready to take this a bit deeper from time to time.

A cup of hot Breathe Easy tea is next to me, helping to sooth my lungs. Otherwise the corner has been turned, the fever and chills are gone (hooray) and I can taste food again. Tomorrow will be another marathon day of packing up spindles that were bought Friday and Saturday. I didn’t get nearly as many into the mail today as I wanted. I fully expect tomorrow to go smoother.

With the temps dipping into the mid 20F Ed’s been diligent about feeding all the birds that winter here.  We warm up the hummingbird water and top off the tubes for the tiny fellows; handfuls of seeds and grains are scattered across the ground and feeders are filled. Shortly after noon Ebo wanted out. I watched him as he stalked towards some of the small birds on the ground. They flew up into the tree next to the house. Ebo crouched low and froze in place. After a bit the birds returned to feeding, a wary eye on the three month old kitten. (We learned his age when we took him to the vet for a checkup.)

After a few minutes he carefully moved towards a group. They didn’t stick around to be playthings. Then to my amazement he moved across the way to under the camper and hid behind the tire. The birds didn’t return to the ground and I went back into the office. About an hour later I heard thrashing near the back door. Small feathers were scattered everywhere as Ebo wildly, joyfully tossed around a poor dead Finch that he’d caught. I managed to pry it from his jaws and paws, pushed him inside the house and gave the Finch a quick burial.

Tomorrow Ed will put fencing around the base between the tires so that he can’t hide behind them within an easy pounce to the feeding birds. Hank showed us that cats learn to smoothly move when wearing a bell collar so the bell doesn’t jingle.

Speaking of Hank… We got up very early one morning to drive to Idaho at the end of September. Thunder, the outdoor cat, had been fed and I was gathering food for the trip when a movement outside the back door caught my attention.

Glancing outside I grabbed my camera.
In a rush to snap the pictures I forgot to check the setting or adequately focus.
DSC00413
DSC00415
DSC00417
Down a step and to the side out of camera view was a second raccoon. He was too spooked by me to come any closer.
Hank didn’t seem too surprised or upset. He sat calmly watching while the raccoon ate Thunder’s food. We haven’t seen either coon since but there have always been coons around here, often living under the museum just down the block from us.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

2 thoughts on “Thirtieth Day”

  1. Oh…the poor finch. I remember when our Zoe would catch birds. She got a baby duck one day…I felt bad about that for a long time. Ebo sounds like one smart kitten!

  2. I can imagine how difficult it must have been to write and publish a post daily, with all that was going on. Congrats on keeping up and making it through the month! It was lovely to follow along and have that glimpse into your life and your thoughts.
    While your posts certainly provide a nice record for yourself, it’s something you could have chosen to do in private, and I think it’s very generous of you to have chosen to share. I, for one, am grateful that it gave me the chance to get to know you a little bit, and connect with you. I hope that in having a readership, you find a reciprocity that’s at least proportional to the gift you are giving us through your sharing.
    All this to say: congratulations and thank you!

Comments are closed.