Two, or one, finished items

Reality hit at 4 this morning when a stuffy nose, an eye stuck shut and aching lungs woke me up. For an hour I lay in bed desperately wanting to go back to sleep before giving up to take some meds and drink hot tea.

I hated succumbing to the fact that this cold isn’t going away in a day or two and reluctantly cancelled teaching Sunday School tomorrow. Tonight my lungs are tight and burn when I cough. Perhaps another day of completely taking it easy and drinking more hot tea will do the trick. (Lemon with honey, licorice, Throat Coat, Breathe Easy, and an Earl Grey because I needed a change of pace!)

I managed about 2 hours of office work before calling it a day and caving in to wrap myself in a gifted shawl. The love I feel when I wear these beautiful precious handspun, hand knit shawls is palpable. Some day I should blog about them and show them off!

Being down has a bright side: finished socks!
DSC01130

Can you believe that I spun this yarn early in 2013? Yep, this yarn came from the Ravelry Jenkins Woodworking Forum’s Swap Challenge2. Sharon, aka Homecraft, so aptly leads these fun challenges which not only builds spinning skills but also friendships. I’m embarrassed to admit that I rarely log in to Ravelry except to find a pattern. My lack of participation is due to my lousy time management. When I’m involved the hours can get sucked away too quickly. I admire, and am thankful!, for all of you who so faithfully participate in the forum.

Oh yes, the socks…
I swapped two ounces of Abstract Fibers, Constellation, with my upstream partner and received two ounces of Out of the Whorled, Just Figs. Each two ounce strip of roving was spun separately using an egret. While driving to Moscow, ID for the Palouse Fiber Festival in June of 2013 I managed to ply the entire four ounces into one huge turtle on the Egret just in time to display at the show. It was such a great display item that the turtle stayed with the Egret until this summer when I finally wound it off into a skein and gave it a bath.

For several months I’d handle the skein trying to determine what it wanted to be. Not a huge fan of the barber-pole look that was going on in much of the skein I finally landed on knitting socks. For myself.  But first I needed to finish Feather’s skirt and spin yarn for a swap with a friend who loves knitting with handspun but is not yet a spinner. (Yes! I’m working on rectifying that missing link in her life.)

When the first sock was finished I got out the ball winder and commenced winding from the inside of the remainder of the ball of yarn in search of that matching area with the beginning of the completed sock. I finally realized that such a thing wasn’t going to happen: the two rovings were dyed in different color lengths and there simply was no point that the repeating colors once again matched in the plyed yarn.

Today the second sock was completed. DSC01131

Time for a last hot cup of tea, a bath and a bit of reading a book in bed.

 

 

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Two, or one, finished items”

  1. I never would have analyzed if the socks “matched,” because they so obviously go together! So sorry you’re sickie, and I think you manage your time admirably!

  2. I am so happy to see another yarn finished from one of the swaps! They came out great. I love the swaps, because every time I wear a completed item from swap yarn, I think of the wonderful new friend who sent me half of the fiber to make the yarn. I hope these socks do the same for you.

    And I hope the next post tells me you are feeling better…

Comments are closed.