Giving thanks

Despite feeling poorly with this sore throat, runny nose, and ringing ears, I’m very thankful that we’d settled on having a low-keyed Thanksgiving this year with just our daughter’s family coming for dinner. Several times during the morning preparations I dreamed of crawling into bed but kept managing to move from task to task.

I’m thankful that Ed helped in small ways which seemed big in the scheme of things. Aurora arrived a few minutes before the turkey was ready to come out of the oven, just in time to help with the last 20 minute round up of food. Clean up was manageable with her “lets-get-this-done” attitude and efficiency.

I’m thankful for the warmth of family, the blessing of good food, a place that we’ve called home for 28 years, relatively good health, and the abundant grace of God.

I’m hoping that I’ll have a good night’s sleep and wake up feeling much better tomorrow.

I’m thankful for a hot shower that is waiting and a comfortable, warm bed to sleep in tonight as the temps again drop into the 20’s F.

I’m so very grateful for the relative peace that we enjoy and earnestly pray for all those whose lives are torn apart by people wanting power and control. My heart goes out to those who don’t have a home to keep them warm and sheltered, with food at hand for nourishment and easily accessible water to quench their thirst. It is humbling to know that but for a different birth or circumstances I could be facing such hardships.

I’m thankful for all the friends worldwide who still read, and leave comments on this blog.

Thank you!
DSC00821
Picture taken early one glorious morning a few weeks ago.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Giving thanks”

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Glad the day went well, despite the cold symptoms. May tomorrow bring you better health and a bit of sunshine!

Comments are closed.