Weaving Wednesday

A simple weaving project was done this past summer using tencel and linen threads purchased through eBay and during Black Sheep Gathering. Woven on my 40″, 4-shaft Norwood loom.

Threading some 450+ needles.
DSC00022

I didn’t think to take any actual weaving shots.

After washing and drying the fabric in the machine I set to with my trusty Featherweight Singer.

The bottom hem.DSC00294

I had hemstitched the edges while the material was still on the loom.

Another seam going in.
DSC00297

I liked the fringe so much that I decided it would look great incorporated into the design.

This picture is washed out, the main color is a rich burgundy.
DSC00304

Yes, I wove curtains.
For our bathroom.
Yes, one of these days we’ll replace that ancient wallpaper!
DSC00302

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Weaving Wednesday”

  1. How inspiring! We could use a few new curtains in this house and those are quite lovely. I like the subtle colors mixed it with the burgundy.

  2. That’s a wonderful fabric, and it makes for stunning curtains! You did a fabulous job.
    I really, really need to learn how to use the loom I was given by my great-aunt… I’d love to create such amazing (and useful!) fabric.

Comments are closed.