Restful Sunday

After church was over this day was spent lazying around.

The first sock was grafted and the ends woven in before casting on and knitting several inches on the second sock.

Reading, listening to music, a nap, watching some tv with Ed, and a bit of spinning rounded out this good day.

Walking past the French door in the kitchen after my nap, the whoosh, whir, and vibration of 48 wings startled me. My movement had startled the some two dozen doves feeding in our backyard just beyond the porch. It’s a sight to see that many doves explode up into the sky from quietly feeding. Daily they come to feed, as many as 27. They’re getting less nervous of our movements within the house but they are still very flighty when spooked.

I’ve tried capturing a picture of them but they don’t want to stay on the ground for long when they become aware of the camera. This shows just a portion of them. I keep hoping to get them all in a picture.
DSC00893I hope you had a gentle, peaceful Sunday.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

2 thoughts on “Restful Sunday”

  1. Sounds like you had a wonderful day. After Church here, we had a lovely church supper…then I went for a long walk with a friend and came home to a nap and some knitting! To top it all of…the sun was shining all day!

Comments are closed.