Cat’s Paws

We did it! The number didn’t hit 111,000 until sometime between 10 – 11:30 am today but hey, what close timing. Thanks to all who’ve commented in the past day.
Comments for the drawing may still be made, be sure to put it in the 11.11 post to count and it must be submitted before 8 pm (Pacific Time) Friday the 13th.

Monday a friend called asking if Ed was still looking for a kitten. Yes, though we weren’t in a hurry. We wanted to take it slow and find the kitty that also made it clear s/he wanted us. She emailed me a picture of the kitten that had apparently been abandoned the night before at the retirement center where she worked. It hung around all night then followed a worker into the office that morning. It’d been having a field day on the receptionist’s desk for much of the day.

Seeing an expression of personality on the kitty’s face I let her know I’d be over to see it as soon as I finished my work for the day.

He just now scrambled up into my lap and deleted a few words. This kitty is a people lover! Whether in the office or siitting at the table weighing and writing on spindles he wants to be on my lap. Ed’s lap is just as good, maybe better. He plays hard and sleeps hard. Last night we decided to see what he’d do if he wasn’t crated during the night. I’d no sooner climbed between the sheets then he was in the crook of my back.

He’s also very intrigued with fiber, needles, spindles… I’ve had to be certain that all temptation is out of his reach but my, he’s a climber! He thinks I’m knitting socks for him to chew.
DSC00952

He hasn’t quite declared his name though it won’t be long before we know what to call him by. We think it might be something along the lines of feet, paws, or toes. Check out this back paw:
DSC00939

All of his feet have extra toes; one front paw even has seven claws!

He’s

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Cat’s Paws”

  1. We almost adopted a cat with extra toes. We were going to name her Polly, for polydactyl. But she looked just like our previous cat who had just died, and it was too soon to have another tuxedo cat.

  2. Oh my…what a precious little furry bundle! I can see that he is well on his way to helping your hearts heal and love again. What a blessing! I look forward to hearing what creative name you come up with…

  3. We found two little kittens in the hedges by my house, and took them in. One just chewed my brand new shaft of my finch I just picked up at Rhienbeck. These little cuties are adorable but you do need to carefully watch them because they are little thieves. I locked all stuff up, to them and my things safe.😻

    1. That’s so sweet of you to take the two in, sorry about your Finch shaft. 😦 With his arrival I’ve put my display spindles up high, out of his sight.

      On Fri, Nov 13, 2015 at 7:34 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

  4. You have one of Hemingway’s 6 toed cats!!!!

    How fantastic! And now you have lots of new options for names for a kitty with special toes!

    1. Yes, a Hemingway kitten – or a Maine Coon mix! We’ve been tossing around various literary names all week though mostly along Tolkien and Hobbit lines.

      On Fri, Nov 13, 2015 at 9:21 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

  5. I think Jana came up with the perfect name — Hemingway!!! Welcome to your new family member, whatever his name. And thanks again for the chance at winning a spindle!

    1. We love the literary aspect of Hemingway’s name as well as his connection to polydactyl cats.

      On Fri, Nov 13, 2015 at 10:01 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.