Tuesday spinning

While the only spinning I did today was while walking with my spindle I’m happy to report that the second skein of Greenwood Fibers roving turned out great. I love chain-plying as I spin singles on a spindle but it’d been ages since I’d chain-plyed with a wheel with it taking some time to get the hang of smoother, less bumpy joins.

All in all, I’m very pleased with this skein.
DSC00933

The skein soaked in very hot water with some Dawn dish soap for about 10 minutes to set the twist then rinsed twice in cold water. A big thirsty towel was used to press out all the water then the skein hung to dry. Having worried that I was adding too much twist while plying, I was delighted that it hung almost straight down with barely a twist. Sometimes it pays to go with the gut instinct.

This yarn is soft with a firm hand. It will have excellent stitch definition and should be great for cosily wrapping around a neck to ward off winter weather.
DSC00934

Fiber: Greenwood Fiberworks 50% Merino / 50% Silk combed roving
Colorway: Mallard
Yardage: ca 400+

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Tuesday spinning”

  1. This is so lovely. I love how chain plying preserves the color progression. I wanted to share that I use an old salad spinner to “spin” out all the water from my skeins before hanging them to dry. Works like a charm. I see them at lot at local thrift shops.

    :O)

    1. Ah, thanks for the reminder about using a salad spinner, and the tip about finding them at thrift shops.

      On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 9:42 PM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

  2. I’ve been spinning my skein in my high-speed front load washer, keeping them contained in a lingerie bag. Then I thwack them on the counter! Gorgeous yarn there, friend; I still need to tackle ply on the fly.

    1. I haven’t figured out how to chain-ply while spinning singles with a wheel – though I earnestly tried last night! Here’s a link to a YouTube video I posted a couple years ago showing the method. It was done shortly after I’d finally developed the technique with a Turkish, I’ve gotten much smoother.

      You’ll have to give it a try; it’s a blast! Don’t forget to comment on my most recent post, the one with the spindle drawing. 🙂 Wanda

      On Thu, Nov 12, 2015 at 11:32 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.