Contemplation of Clouds

Yesterday was one of those days of poor decisions and forgetfulness.

Arriving at Haymaker’s parent’s place for his birthday celebration we discovered that we’d left his presents at home. I own the oversight: Ed loaded the car with the bag of jarred produce that Aurora had helped me can this summer as well as overseeing locked doors, cat out, grabbing the car keys. I got sidetracked gathering a knitting project and completely spaced on the gifts.

There were other incidents that don’t need elaboration. Bless Ed’s heart, he was so patient with me!

Today is Haymaker’s birthday so late this afternoon I buzzed into Silverton to deliver the presents to my daughter.  Ed and I had taken Violet birthday shopping for him on Friday and together wrap the gift she’d chosen for him. She was so excited about it she wanted to take it home and give it to him right away.

Driving eastward to home there was a wide column of billowing thunderclouds blazing white in the sunlight towering high above the Cascade Mountains. They glowed against a deep grey background of heavy rain clouds. I should have taken my camera and tried to capture the glory. There were areas where the sunlight turned the white clouds into opals.

Looking at the mass of darkness with the dazzling whiteness interposed on it I thought about how the people living in the areas underneath only perceived the stormy darkness. Our place is tucked into a small valley, the ridges on three sides block much of the sky, limiting our view. How often do we see only the dark over us when not that far off is incredible beauty if one takes the time to step away from the limited field of view. I can get so dragged down by the heavy black cloud that seems to have swallowed everything.

Then I was reminded that God always sees the whole picture: The entirety of all light, color and beauty far surpassing the darkness. My soul feels solace in such a thought.

DSC00091

(Photo taken late August in the morning. Imagine the lowering sun shining from in front of this cloud with all the sky behind it a deep grey.)

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Contemplation of Clouds”

  1. I am always in awe of how God can use everything and everyone around us to speak to our hearts. What a lovely photo.

    (I can forget things too when trying to gather my knitting for travel…nice that Ed was so patient!)

  2. I am enjoying reading your daily posts. I was especially interested in your adventures in knitting a skirt–that’s on my bucket list. Additionally, I’m in awe of anyone who can grow cauliflower!

    1. Knitting the first skirt for a child is the way to go. 🙂 The cauliflower was sort of a fluke; this was our first attempt at planting seeds with the vague hope of getting any. Imagine my utter surprise when one day I spotted a huge white head underneath its leafy covers.

      On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 8:10 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.