November Strawberries!

We ate fresh strawberries today. Fresh as in picked from a local farmer’s field and brought to our son-in-law’s birthday celebration. Oh my, were they ever a delicious treat! Haymaker’s sister plunked an entire flat = 12 boxes, what we used to call halicks when I picked berries back in the day.
(Poor quality picture taken by Ed on our cheap cell phone – which only gets reception when we’re away from home.)
IMG0066BI’m not a fan of strawberry jam, syrups, pies or any forms of strawberries except for freshly picked ones. Perhaps it was all those childhood summers of picking them for money, occasionally eating one as I crept along the row made me quite choosey about ripeness and flavor. There’s nothing to equal the flavor of a strawberry ripened to perfection right off the plant. These were just as I prefer them; a tad on the green side which makes a happy tartness. Steady Autumn rains moved into the valley yesterday. The coming week of cold rain will bring a quick end to this fabulous mid-autumn treat.

IMG0068A
Haymaker’s mom had already whipped up some fresh cream with a bit of powdered sugar for her blueberry pies. Also perfect  for dipping the strawberries. mmm

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “November Strawberries!”

  1. Oh…I love fresh picked strawberries! We did not go picking this year, but we did last year and I hope to again next year.

    :O)

  2. I can taste them! Actually, I picked the last of the strawberries dangling from my floral hanging baskets by my front door, only last week. I considered them my treat but would have loved for a postman to have helped himself as he delivered the mail! I don’t think any of them did!

    1. Mmm, hanging baskets with strawberries right by your door! That’s living in style. I bet more than one of the postmen eyed them longingly. Next year you could put up a sign, “When you deliver the mail please eat one.”

      On Mon, Nov 9, 2015 at 12:46 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.