A Fiber Festival

The clouds turned from grey to splashes of fiery red as we headed north then east early this morning.
DSC00898
The Columbia Gorge is always a beautiful drive though today the overcast sky muted the colors flattened perspective with low hanging clouds obscuring much of the higher ridges. The picture below is of one of the islands in the Columbia River near Hood River. A boat dock and a partially hidden house tucked on the east side often makes me if someone actually lives there or uses it for a vacation or fishing home.
DSC00910
Arriving in The Dalles (rhymes with pals) we took roads that wound up the steep hillside to the venue where the Columbia Gorge Fiber Festival is being held this weekend. The CGFF used to be in April which didn’t work so well for us and so last year we decided not to do it. This year the organizers moved the date to November and the venue from Hood River to The Dalles – about 20 miles further east.

The views were amazing! I wish this picture did justice to the majesty. That’s a barge in the center of the Columbia, the John Day Dam is barely visible behind the trees, a white barge has just exited the locks on the left side of the dam. Rugged bluffs are faintly visible in the far distance nestled under those clouds. If it wasn’t for the autumn trees this is a monochromatic scene.
DSC00919

The marketplace space has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the town, river and mountains. People were knitting and chatting in the chairs placed next to the windows.

My first stop was at Cheryl’s NewHueHandspuns booth to ogle over her fibers, spinning and creations..

DSC00918

Our friend, Allison, of AGeary Woodworks has a wonderful space in front of the bank of windows. Next year we’d love to set up next to her. (She’s holding one of the bags that she makes for her excellent yarn swifts.)
DSC00916

Next to her is Christine of Upstream Alpacas with fiber and items from the alpacas she raises. (Ed’s talking with her in this picture.) Today I added another 4 oz of her scrumptious alpaca/silk blend to spin up and add to the pound+ that I’ve already spun with the goal of weaving cloth once I have enough.
DSC00917
It was fun chatting with vendors and having the time to really look at items instead of quickly dashing here and there during brief booth breaks.

I feel in love with some products of new-to-me vendors:
Black Sheep Creamery, the cheese made from their East Freisen sheep is delicious as well as the wool from their sheep.

Mosaic Moon, Morwenna and two of her kids made the trip all the way from Ashland, down at the southern end of Oregon. I couldn’t resist her Polwarth/Silk colorway “4th Doctor’s Scarf” roving.

I’d be up too late if I try to name/link everyone that deserve recognition and I need to be up early to polish the Sunday School lesson I’ll be teaching in the morning.

Looking outside across the valley to the north the glow of sunlight, toward the bottom middle of the picture, caught my eye.
DSC00915

Zoom in and you’ll see the glow is the upper portion of Mt Adams looming above a ridge of the Cascade Mts in Washington.DSC00913

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “A Fiber Festival”

  1. Such beautiful photos…I am glad you had a nice time at the festival and actually got the chance to wander amid the fluff and enjoy it all!

    1. It’s wonderful to finally see snow on the Cascade peaks again, and water running in the rivers. I wondered if I’d run into you at CGFF.

      On Mon, Nov 9, 2015 at 9:07 PM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.