Knitting for a beloved girl

At the end of July I asked my granddaughter, Feather, if she’d like me to knit her a skirt for her birthday. Together we searched Raverly for the pattern she liked. She chose Piroutte Twirls, without stripes. It had to be purple. I had a lovely skein of purple yarn in stock but not enough so off I went to the LYS, Apples to Oranges (the best yarn store between Portland and Eugen, if you’re ever in the area you should definitely stop, have a cup of tea and some yarn) to plunder the purple yarn section returning home with two skeins of Malabrigo.

I eagerly cast on, knit the waist band, turned it and knit together the last row with the cast on row to make the tube for an elastic. Zooming merrily along for another inch or so the dreaded realization slowly sank in. It wasn’t going to be big enough and the material felt too stiff and tight. I ripped it out, went up a needle size to try again. (Yes, I had checked gauge but it often seems that actual knitting comes out different than the test patch for me.)
This time all was well.

The knitting saw action during a long-awaited concert at the McMenamins Edgefield venue. More about that another post.
DSC00233During the drive to visit the kids at the beginning of October I finished the 2nd tier, added another 1/3 stitches and was feeling positive about meeting the birthday deadline with plenty of time to spare.

Feather was thrilled with the color and how it was turning out. Last year she’d asked me to teach her how to knit so we picked out some yarn and needles then set about learning how to maneuver 2 needles, yarn, thumbs and tongue. This year, upon sitting down to knit during the first evening, Feather brought out her scarf in progress, exactly as it was when I’d left thirteen months earlier. Every evening and first thing in the mornings we sat and knitted together. (I should have asked Ed to take a picture of the two of us knitting.)

Saturday morning I knit on the skirt in the sunshine while watching the kids pounding nails into boards with Papa.DSC00611
Before long Feather was sitting beside me asking if she could knit on her skirt.  It tickles me to no end that she knit a portion of her skirt. Once I’d knit a couple of rows it wasn’t possible to see any difference between her stitches and mine.
DSC00614On the drive home the sun slanted in the window and I discovered a hole part way up the skirt. Mysteriously the yarn was broken! How or when is unknown. This was the second time the yarn broke but the first time was discovered as I took the knitting out of the bag when I joined the Meridian spinners for coffee the Friday we were in Boise. I suspect it somehow briefly snagged in the project bag zip as it was broken between the skirt and the ball of yarn.
DSC00725
Soon the hole was mended and the inches continued to grow. The pattern called for 3 rows of garter stitching before casting off but i didn’t like the way it was curling. My last ball of yarn was getting too small to think about adding more rows so I ripped back and re-knit five rows in garter. Much better though it still wanted to curl some.
DSC00735
A firm laying out after its bath helped the ruffle edge to lie properly.
DSC00745
These two pictures best show the purple color.
DSC00737
It was wrapped and mailed to arrive in good time for her birthday. Feather tells me that she loves it and wears it often. I keep hoping that her mom will send me a picture of her wearing it.

This was such a fun knit, inspire of the few set backs. The yarn had some funky areas that almost seemed like joins but they were numerous and quite small. Very close inspection made me think they were little nibs that had gotten spun into the yarn. Pulling, snapping and stressing those bits didn’t show weakness and they weren’t at all noticeable when knit. Otherwise the yarn was sheer joy to knit.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Knitting for a beloved girl”

    1. All these years I’ve heard/seen the two big M yarns, now I know why people love them.

      On Fri, Nov 6, 2015 at 11:23 AM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

  1. You did a fabulous job with that skirt! I have no doubt Feather is wearing it very often – it’s exactly what she wanted, there’s a little bit of her work in it, and it must feel like wearing a nice, big hug from you. Perfect!

    1. What a sweet thought: “wearing a nice big hug”. That brought a warm smile to my heart for I do believe you’re right. Thank you!

      On Tue, Nov 17, 2015 at 3:02 PM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.