Tuesday Treats

The intention of posting daily this month (gulp) makes me realize there should be at least some systematic order so the postings aren’t completely hodgepodge.

Tuesdays shall be food days, based on the fact that almost every Tuesday evening for the past three+ years I’ve baked a cake. for Ed to take to the crew that spends Wednesdays fixing food to feed whoever shows up hungry at a church in the next town over. They’re my small contribution to the crew’s faithful, goodhearted effort to feed 400+. Even now a chocolate cake is cooling on the table filling the house with its enticing aroma.

A drier summer than normal meant a smaller garden that wouldn’t need as much watering. Fine by me! It was nice not having to keep up with harvesting, canning and drying. A warm September and October kept the tomato and pepper plants producing. Potatoes aren’t as big as past years but they’ve been tasty. We’ll continue digging them as we need them, as well as the beets and carrots that are left in the ground.

The garden by mid-July.
DSC09509Vegetables from the garden graced an abundance of delicious meals.
DSC09093

Old fashioned pole beans. Spinning is the perfect pastime while watching the pressure canner gauge.
DSC09902

The corn was tall, sweet and tasty.
DSC09967

This was the biggest cauliflower I’ve ever grown. Cauliflower was especially abundant and flavorful this year.
DSC00204

Feeling very thankful to live in a place where food grows so abundantly!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Treats”

  1. I’m trying to post daily this month too (gulp). I’ll be checking with you to read what you post. Your garden did better than ours did!

Comments are closed.