Autumn preparations

This summer Ed hired a couple of young men to install a moisture barrier and plywood on the underside of the porch he added onto the back of the house years ago. Condensation would often drip down on the porch like rain during cold winter mornings. This past week he’s been putting in a hour or two every afternoon painting the plywood. I’ve joined him when I’ve had the time. Why does it take me longer to do the office and house work he works in the shop is a mystery. I’ll never figure out to work as fast or efficiently as he does. When he’s focused on a task, step back. Don’t get in his way. 
DSC00838

We finished painted the first coat over 2/3rds of roof last Saturday. (The last portion will be tackled next but first we’ll need to rearrange the things that are stored in that area. This week Ed has already painted on the second coat. The off-white paint has brightened the whole area. We’re using Metro Paint – a recycled paint made from left-over paints collected in the greater Portland area and combined in like colors. This shade is called “Seashell”. It’s a good margin at $11.99 / gallon sold at Fred Meyers.

Saturday afternoon I picked tomatoes and peppers from the garden to make a soup.
DSC00841

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Autumn preparations”

  1. Yum! I can’t believe you are still getting things out of the garden! Though we did just get a gift of a 5 gallon pail of carrots. Tomorrows work…

    :O)

Comments are closed.