Spinning

Stunned.

Can it really be almost four months since the last post here? Perhaps if I post each day during November some memories, events and projects that happened during those months will get recorded. Rather than trying to write a novel in November, as many people attempt by writing so many words per day, posting here daily will be my goal.

Morning walks were resumed in August with my neighbor and her young Irish Wolfhound. The spindle has been filled a couple of times during those walks. 100 grams on this spindle.
DSC00278My Victoria wheel has been seeing almost daily action spinning about 6 ounces that are now in the process of chain-plying to preserve the color.

The yarn is my second attempt for a friend. The first time I split the roving in half to spin the singles For some mysterious reason the yarn didn’t take to plying properly. Even after being respun onto another bobbin it’s still inconsistent with some very loosely spun areas. DSC00270 DSC00272Any ideas what I did wrong? It’s disheartening to have this happen after all these years of spinning and not know a solution?

I was able to buy more of the same Mallard color way from sweet Carolyn of Greenwood Fiberworks at Oregon Flock & Fiber Fest in September this time buying extra with the intent to chain-ply to better preserve the color blends and yet have plenty of yardage.
DSC00845
Almost 1/2 of it is now plyed. I’m not thrilled with the joining/loop areas but I’m hoping that they’ll smooth out in the wash. I really want to do justice to this beautiful fiber!

Time to get back to plying this evening…

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Spinning”

  1. When the spinning stumps the spinning guru, you know there’s trouble in River City! I don’t have a solution. But I love that you’re back at the blog. I don’t think I’ll post daily, but I’ll try to blog the backlog that didn’t get done, because the pictures are pretty!

  2. The cops on your spindles are always stunning: such gorgeous singles, and so beautifully packed! I’m also impressed by the amount you had there; I haven’t yet been able to put a quarter as much on a spindle before my spinning and the quality of my singles become negatively impacted by the weight difference. Must practice more!

    1. Hi Josiane! Practice makes perfect. 🙂 Spinning during walks adds up to lots of practice. Adjusting for the weight change comes almost automatically now.

      On Wed, Nov 11, 2015 at 6:48 PM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

Comments are closed.