Walk with me Wednesday

The fine Pacific Northwest weather of spring-like sunny days in the 60s is coming to a close. Rain will be moving in later this afternoon. Snow is predicted for the mountains – a good thing since the snow pack is only 7% of normal! A good snow pack is crucial for the water table, farmers and water reservoirs.

Rising shortly before dawn the colorful sky pulled me outside for an early morning walk.
DSC07720

The sky was ever changing, different in every direction. Looking North below.

DSC07721

Glowing brilliance to the East.

DSC07722

Across the creek and heading North is a house with a juxtaposition of Christmas lights, blooming camellias and the 4th of July.

DSC07725

The fiery sky beyond the eastern ridge mellowing.

DSC07727

This fine oak tree will be swathed with wisteria in another months or so.
DSC07728
Wisteria vines and daffodils.

DSC07729

Clouds coming in from the Pacific Ocean about 70 road miles west.

DSC07732

High winds blowing from the East made streamers of the wispy clouds. The high pressure is dropping and soon the prevailing winds will blow in from the southwest bringing rain.

DSC07737
Down the rise, across the bridge, back into town.

DSC07740

Across from the post office a tree caught my eye. Were those unfurling leafs? What kind of tree was it?

DSC07742

Crossing the street to inspect the tree I discover to my immense delight…

DSC07745

Pussy willow with its blooming catkins! (It’s ironic that catkins from a smaller hazelnut tree beside the willow is what first caught my attention to the bigger tree.)

As a child I loved finding the first pussy willows of the spring and taking them home to my mom who put them into a vase. Their fleeting heralding of Spring brought cheer to the kitchen table.
DSC07746

To think that all these years I’d not paid attention to this tree. My heart did little pitter-patters with happiness at the sight.

DSC07747

After such a walk what better than to bake an apple pie?
DSC07757

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Walk with me Wednesday”

    1. Oh no, how disappointing. With your panorama view and your photography skills your sunrise pictures would have been glorious to see. One bummer about living in this little hollow is that we get the trailings of the sun’s color shows and have to go a mile to see even the tip of Mt Hood.

Comments are closed.