Blessed

An email heralded the box’s appearance about a week before it arrived in our PO box. Scarcely containing the impulse to rip it open right in the post office I raced home, grabbed Ed and opened it. Inside was a cocoon of fiber surrounding a block of Imbuia wood for Ed.

DSC07476

Ed reached for the wood while I scooped up the soft, luscious hand-dyed roving sent from a friend.
DSC07542
The colors of the silk/baby llama blend has proven hard to capture. Deep blues, greys and brown with highlights of brighter hues and flashes of purple that make me wonder if I’m seeing things.
DSC07541

After spinning up the first 52 grams on the Great Wheel the strands seemed to call to be used as singles.

DSC_6329Soaked, set and dried this first half yielded approximately 230 yards. There’s another spinning project that I must finish before I spin the second 52 grams. As soon as my hands touched this soft roving I couldn’t resist taking the other fiber (Polwarth) off the Great Wheel spindle. But, the deadline of having a finished object made from the spun Polwarth is the last week of February.

Yesterday we were able to meet up briefly with our son who was in the area on a business trip. We’d planned to have supper together but the scheduling only allowed a very short meet-up. I’ll take ten minutes with him over none!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Blessed”

Comments are closed.