Little hands, big heart

The sweater is knit back to where I discovered six stitches were missing. One good thing is the button holes are neater and more uniform. Rather than following the directions for a one yarn-over button hole I’m using the one-row horizontal buttonhole from the Vogue Knitting Quick Reference book, page 84. It took awhile to get the hang of exactly how many stitches before the end of the row I needed to start working it but after about 9 times I’ve got it down.

Please indulge this grandma in sharing something that was precious to me yesterday:

Ed and young Violet returned from a trip to town to pick up some screws and wood while I was still packing up spindles to take to the Post Office. At two and a half years old Violet wanted to help me wrap. She rolled the office chair over to the workbench. Not content to play with a few items, including a small sea shell, as she has in the past, she really wanted to participate, so I handed her a folded sheet of tissue paper.

The little shell was one in a boxful of shells which Ed had brought home after his time on Diego Garcia, a tiny island in the middle of the Indian Ocean where he spent much of his off-duty hours snorkeling for shells decades ago. Violet has enjoyed rolling the smooth surface in her hands while admiring its pastel beauty. Yesterday she decided to give it to her older sister for her birthday which is tomorrow.

After carefully (for a 2 year old) wrapping it, tape and all, she took a piece of paper and wrote Abby a note. Enchanted, I had to capture the sweet moment with some pictures.
DSC_6200

DSC_6195She’s well aware of birthdays. Her daddy’s was last month as well as several cousins recently having them. She sees decorated trees, and is learning that baking cookies and wrapping gifts are signaling that we’ll be celebrating Jesus’ birthday pretty soon.

She is learning the joy of giving.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Little hands, big heart”

  1. Precious pictures! The Joy of Giving ~ What a wonderful thing to learn at such a tender age. I hope she is blessed with that gift for the rest of her life, as well as with many others! Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.