To knit a sweater

Often I automatically count stitches when knitting. I used to count ceiling tiles. I’ve been knitting a sweater for Ed since February. He gifted me with the yarn and pattern for Christmas last year. A basic, straightforward, stockinette, button-up sweater. It started off brilliantly, bringing great comfort during the plane flight to and from visiting our son’s family. (I’m rather terrified when my feet aren’t close to the ground.)

The back was off the needles in just a few weeks. But, my, it did seem wide. And short. Laying it on the bed I measured Ed’s favorite sweater against it. No way would it respectably fit. Pictures were taken as evidence but my old laptop was drowned in September. A friend managed to retrieve the photos from it onto a hard drive, one of these days I need to upload the ones worth keeping to this laptop.

Spring gardening, summer spinning and other projects pushed their way to the front while the sweater cooled its stitches. This time around I’ve gone down two needles sizes, one size smaller on the chart, knit the body length longer – this time armed with measuring tape and Ed’s measurements. The back and right front are finished. The left front was over 1/3rd this morning, only the 5 stitch, horizontal buttonholes slowing me down. Because it’s been a mindless project I’ve been reading or watching movies while knitting, for once not compulsively counting.

Until this morning. With a slim possibility that it might be finished in time to wrap for Christmas I was in the zone early this morning (not as early as yesterday’s 4:30am knitting) when reaching the end of the row the number 71 jumped out of my head. What? No, it should be 77. Since I hadn’t really been counting I must have missed some numbers. Carefully counting the stitches strung across the circs the fact remained; somewhere I’d lost six stitches.

The first buttonhole did it. It ate three stitches, the next one took two away and to my chagrin there was a dropped stitch at the edge of the row, just above the first buttonhole. It was ripped back to the first buttonhole – a mere 1 1/4″ from the bottom edge – before heading to the office and the work day. This evening the stockinette is moving smoothly along. I’m not frantic about getting it done by Christmas but the hope still lingers. For once there’s nothing extra scheduled for this weekend other than working in the morning, taking & editing photos of spindles in preparation for Monday’s update and writing on the spindles Ed will make tomorrow. Oh, and practicing the violin to play for Sunday’s service.

Here’s a few pictures of the local park and the town’s tree lighting ceremony which we were asked to play music for one very cold night early in December. There was hot chocolate, coffee, homemade chili and cornbread for everyone, festive music, even a horse and wagon bringing Mr & Mrs Santa Claus.
DSC07327 DSC07331

DSC07335

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “To knit a sweater”

  1. The sweater will be full of memories! Enjoy your weekend and the chance to relax. Merry Christmas to you both!

Comments are closed.