12.13.14

This is too fun of a date to let slip past without blogging. I’ve yet an hour to midnight here in the Pacific Northwest.

This evening was the annual Christmas Sing-along at the Friends church in town. What a time we had rocking the building with noise and joy. Two of our regular guitarists couldn’t make it but there were still plenty of musicians and the pews (rounded into sort of a circle for the occasion) were packed.

Ed took a few pictures early in the evening, before the large group of cowboys arrived. Once they came there was hardly even any standing room left. It’s a good thing a number of people took turns chatting and eating in the basement. I wish he’d thought to take a picture of them. They were decked out with their hats, and fancy neck rags. But, alas, no pictures of them.
DSC07346
DSC07351

Heehee, no we weren’t intentionally practicing the old Quaker traditions of men on one side and women on the other. It just happened this way.

DSC07358

Some of the smaller kids danced to some of the songs, a sight to cheer one’s heart.

One of the older couples who always attend said they’ve come to every Sing-Along since we started doing this 16 years ago. Has we really been doing it that long!

Now that this evening is behind us I’m looking ahead to the last days leading up to Christmas. We work at not getting caught up in the consumerism or the hurry-scurry of the season but to try to choose deliberately what is worth our time and effort. As a result we’ve been pretty successful at maintaining a reasonable pace. Though tempted, I’m trying not to cast a bunch of wool on the needles or other unrealistic expectations. Today I made half a dozen small apple cakes with homemade caramel sauce to give to friends. Some gifting cookies were baked on Wednesday and I’d like to make a batch or two of some type of candy, perhaps divinity this year. I’m looking forward to spending a quiet afternoon tomorrow writing Christmas cards to dear loved ones far away.

Keeping the season simple is good.

A page from our music.
DSC07361

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “12.13.14”

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! I was thankful that there was still an hour left on that date in which to post.
      Merry Christmas & well wishes to you.

  1. Oh my, that looks like so much fun! I wish I could have heard it! We had our annual Advent dinner at church last Sunday night and we did lots of carol singing, with someone playing the keyboard. My creativity right now is taking a rest since I had surgery this week and just came home yesterday. I pray that you and Ed will have a blessed and joyful Christmas day.

  2. Your approach to this season sounds much like mine, although this year with a new job I haven’t even had time to do any baking yet. I hope to start mixing and scooping batches of cookies, freezing the dough balls so I can bake off a sheet of each for freshest eating and giving, but we shall see what gets done. I’m 2/3rds done with my second to the last small knit gift (and have until the 27th, when we will drive to Medford to see my sister visiting her in-laws), and plan to finish my Christmas cards today. And ride. Must ride; time with Lance has been my sanity-saver….

  3. Music makes the heart dance! Thanks for sharing. I love all the pictures and adore the little drawing on your music! Have a blessed Christmas.

Comments are closed.