Joyful Creativity

Posts have been few and far between this year. Often posts form in my head during work hours, or when I should be dreaming. Rather useless for actual posting.

What’s been happening? Other than seemingly never ending tweaking on the Yarn Tools website? Knitting, some spinning and crocheting.

Color.

It’s been over a month since purple and bits of plum have entered my life in celebration of the creativity that God has endowed us with. Late autumn doesn’t seem quite drab when there are purple streaks to bring a smile, a startled exclamation, surprise, or puzzlement. Joy of color.

DSC07098

Our daughter’s older girls had no school during Thanksgiving week so one morning we picked them up from the farm and took them to Salem to spend time at Create A Memory.


DSC07251

Within fifteen minutes of this picture all the tables around us were filled with kids. What a happy, vibrant room!
DSC07277

The older girls each have a dog that needed a special bowl.
DSC07260

Violet wanted to paint a little dish to give her mom for Christmas.

DSC07249

After she finished painting it she helped Papa paint his dish, which is really hers to use when she’s here.
DSC07271

The finished bowls and a bright tile for the teapot staying warm on the wood stove.

DSC07314

What creativity is coloring your world with joy these days?

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Joyful Creativity”

  1. Love the hair Wanda! And I will be sure to share the picture of the pottery with Bart. He will love to see other budding ceramicists in the making!! Looks like a most excellent day of colorful joy.

    1. 🙂 Blue dreadlocks, or did he cut them off? Say hi to him from me.
      Having purple, and smaller burgundy, streaks in my hair has been wild. Much better than the blue I did when Sarah was still in high school.

Comments are closed.