10-12-14

I had to blog on this date, mind block or not. It’s stunning to realize that almost 2 months have passed since the last post. So many events, small happenings and thoughts have flowed past that it’s hard to begin to know how to jump in the fast rushing stream.

We’ve been waking up between 4 – 5 almost every morning this week. It was nice to actually sleep in until 6 this morning. Not that we set an alarm. No, some internal clock seems to think we need that extra hour to ease into the work day. Thursday morning I stepped outside about 3:40 to gaze at the lunar eclipse. It was almost a shock to see how dark the night was, how bright the stars. Just hours before I’d stood in our back yard enjoying the bright light shining from the huge, glowing moon. Except for a background chorus of crickets the early morning darkness was enveloped in a deep calm that filled the soul. I debated staying up but more sleep seemed wise with a day full of responsibilities ahead. At 4:30 Ed got up, and I gave up trying to fall back asleep.

Spinzilla took place this week. I managed to spin all of four ounces for a total of 217 yards. Dreams of spinning at record speed (for me) were dashed when I chose to spin a scrumptious Alpaca/Tussah Silk blend with the Walking Wheel. I had enjoyed spinning alpaca with the WW in the past. Unfortunately the combo doesn’t seem to work well with long-draw. The twist settled onto the long silk threads but grabbed the shorter alpaca in clumps so I ended up needing to use a sort of modified worsted,long-draw. If there’s such a thing. Very hands on. Which isn’t conducive to spinning a Walking Wheel. My Victoria wheel needs some tlc from Ed so using it wasn’t an option. I thought about seeing what I could do with a spindle but decided not to stress about the lack of volume but to use the time as a good learning experience. Friday night, after a beautiful hike with the visiting Idaho grandkids (and packing Violet in the backpack), I was too tired to walk at the WW so I grabbed a kuchulu and spun five yards of a red and black fiber for grandson who wanted me to make him a “manly” bracelet. The two Idaho children learned to spin when we visited them at the end of August.

DSC06252DSC06268

DSC06265

Life is good! Ed and I are blessed. We enjoyed having the children stay with us for a portion of the weekend. We made our muscles sore hiking to Butte Creek Falls on Friday 039

and working in the yard yesterday afternoon. Young friends joined us for dinner after church today. Tomorrow morning a friend from college days ,when she, Ed & I were on staff at a summer camp, will be visiting. She and her husband have been living in Czech… for almost 3 decades. It’s a treat to get to spend time with her when they’re in the states visiting family and friends. Tuesday morning Heidi is coming to get some hands-on with setting up a loom and work on some of the finer points of spinning. Then! It’s back to work full speed ahead. Wheeee.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “10-12-14”

  1. Spending time with those you love, and sharing pass times that bring you joy, is such a special way to enjoy life! From your pictures, it is clear that your life is filled with love and beauty to overflowing! Thank you for letting it spill out to us through your blog. Blessings Wanda.

  2. It’s so nice to hear from you again! And it’s great to see old friends. My daughter Johanna and I just got back from a 10-day holiday in and around Nanaimo, B.C. where we visited with many old friends and soaked in the beautiful scenery. We knew that going in October would probably mean rain and it did rain quite a bit but that didn’t matter. I think it’s fantastic to see children with spindles in their hands, learning to spin. It seems that all I see in people’s hands these days are ipads and cell phones. I did see one young lady knitting on one of the ferries Jo and I took. She was very proud to show me her work, and how she had changed colours.

    1. A trip to Nanaimo with your daughter and meeting friends there, wonderful! There is a very appealing ad on tv about Nanaimo which makes me want to experience it (as well as Victoria Island), someday.

Comments are closed.