Finches, a hummingbird and a shirt

I want to put the brakes on June, to have the days slow to a languid crawl wherein there is plenty of time to luxuriate in the last weeks of one of the most pleasant Springs to be had.

Hearing the noisy birds at the feeders this evening I grabbed my camera and slid quietly outside to snap pictures of the finches.
(Picture heavy post; please let me know if any of you have a slow connection which makes loading lots of pictures almost impossible.)DSC04879

 

 

DSC04906

 

DSC04905

At times throughout the day over two dozen would be flitting amongst the branches of the ash tree and two feeders.
DSC04896

A tiny bird hummed into view to stop for a bright sweet drink.
DSC04897

She kept an eye on me but didn’t seem too wary about the less than five feet between us.
DSC04901
There was another reason I’d stepped outside before the evening dew began to fall.
DSC04900
A shirt was waiting to be brought inside and ironed after this past Saturday’s debut at the NW Regional Spinners’ Guild conference held on the beautiful grounds of Willamette University. I only went for the day to chat with people, spin and volunteer to watch items in the Gallery a couple of hours. And chat with more people. While spinning on my Egret. And have a delightful lunch outside next to this bridge with Flora who drove down from Portland to spin for the day.
DSC04860The material was woven earlier this year (see 1.4.14 post) from a combination of linen threads, tencel threads and wool. A linsey/woolsey shirt – which looks like it will definitely need ironing. The material may have come off the loom in January, washed, dried and rolled up to store but it took until May to get around to figuring out what shape to make the shirt. I’m quite pleased with it. I love the woven detail that can be seen close up.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Finches, a hummingbird and a shirt”

  1. So many finches…that’s amazing! Barry and I only bought a bird table and feeder a couple of weeks ago and are eagerly waiting some birds arriving so we can photograph them. I think they wait until we have gone out before they go and have a sneaky feed! Your shirt/blouse is so beautiful, and those creases are what you get with a linen fabric, you must be so proud of your work, it is a perfect fit and suits you very much..

    1. The birds tend to be very shy but over time will get used to one’s non-threatening presence. We’ve had feeders for a number of years. The Finches mostly explode away from the feeder when I venture outside but it doesn’t take them long to return if I don’t move near them, or quickly. Finches love thistle seed! We also put out sunflower seed which attracts other birds.
      I really appreciated your compliments on my shirt, thank you. Your clothing is so creative, beautifully detailed, and expertly sewn.

  2. Wanda…what a beautiful shirt! I love the colors and and just a Picperfic said, it suits you perfectly. Did you use a pattern or create the shape yourself. I would love to know the pattern if you used one.

    You are a fantastic photographer! As soon as I saw the first picture, I had to smile! Not growing up a bird watcher, I am unfamiliar with many types of birds and their names. I can pick out a Robin, Red winged black bird, a Blue jay, Magpie, hummingbirds and a few more…but many are a mystery. For the last few days we have had a little bird flying up to our picture window and pecking at it. She will sit on the sill outside and tap away.. almost as if she is wanting in! Cute little thing. Thanks to your pictures…I now know she is a finch!

    Like you, I hope the season of warmth, both spring and summer last for a bit. I really want to bask in it’s unique beauty!

    Blessings~

    1. Thanks, Sharon. I sort of used a pattern that I got off the internet and meshed it with the cut of one of my shirts that sits well on me.
      I’m tickled that now you know what a proper Finch looks like! (There are a number of varieties of Finch, a couple that visit our feeders the most often are the gold and the house finch.)

  3. Your shirt is lovely and I think the colour is perfect for you. Do you like ironing? I don’t! We finally have spring here and we’ve planted some flowers and vegetables, even though we don’t quite get enough sun on our property for some things. I have radishes and lettuce coming up and hopefully soon the zucchini plants will pop up. And of course, my beloved nasturtiums, in honour of my grandmother (they were favourites of hers.)

    1. I enjoy small amounts of ironing and the smell of freshly pressed clothes.
      Here’s to a sunny June with lots of nasturtiums and abundant vegetables.

  4. I love the birds; the yellow finches won’t come to my feeder, but the house finches do. And some other birds that I don’t know the names of. The goldfinches like the feeders three streets down…

    Your shirt is beautiful!

    1. House finches were the first to find our feeder a number of years ago. It took longer for the gold, and lesser gold finch to come. The thistle seed Ed puts out eventually won them over. 🙂

      On Tue, Jun 3, 2014 at 9:03 PM, Fiberjoy wrote:

      >

  5. I love seeing all the birds at the feeders. I’ve been thinking about getting some feeders in particular a hummingbird feeder that can suction cup to the kitchen window. While I was out on the deck in front of the kitchen spinning a small female hummingbird caught my eye and I think my wheel caught her eye. She hovered in place for quite awhile.

    Your shirt turned out wonderful! It was amazing to see how this project developed over time. 🙂

Comments are closed.