Feeling Grateful

In the time since I last wrote the spinach and peas which we planted in early March are thriving. This picture of the pea vines was taken April 12th, they’re almost twice as high now.

030The last two nights we’ve had a handful of spinach leaves in our juice, as well as some watercress that Ed planted several weeks ago. Their tender succulent leaves are a delicious addition to our nightly ritual of juiced lemon, ginger root, powered tumeric, almond milk and whatever is on hand that sounds good.

Ed’s blood pressure was 160/134 at his check-up in early February. He declined the doctor’s recommended statins taking matters into his own hands. Those high numbers and our seemingly endless rounds of colds and sinus problem made him serious about cutting out all soft drinks replacing them with lots of fruits and juicing.

His blood pressure at his check-up this past Thursday was 130/85.

The apple tree had lots of blossoms again this year. One warm day as I walked home from the Post Office towards the end of MarchI was stopped by a loud humming emanating from the tree. Honey Bees and Bumble Bees, Butterflies and Wasps were swarming from blossom to blossom sharing in the heady feast of the spring pollen and nectar.035-001
DSC04570-001
The stretch of fine warm weather continued into the first couple of weeks of April. (It’s been quite cold since with lots of rain, some hail and thunderstorms.) Our little Violet was delighted by all the little daisies and bright dandelions growing in our yard but she wasn’t too sure about the daisy .
009-001

Slippers were crocheted for the new son of a dear friend of my daughter, Aurora, using some of my handspun wool which was dyed by Aurora last year. (My own fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants booties)

DSC_0112
The soles of Ed’s beloved felted slippers that we’d bought at OFFF four or five years ago were wearing out.Β  One hole was already under the heel with other very thin areas threatening to give way. Casting about for a solution to extending the life of these slippers I thought of the leather that I’d tucked away for a special purpose. A customer had traded one of her husband’s wonderfully soft, beautiful hand-tanned deer hides for a couple of spindles several years ago.
Yesterday afternoon I sat at the kitchen table with the slippers, a block of wood, an awl and hammer, sharp sturdy needle and linen thread.

DSC_0120

Ed declared them as better than new, liking the moccasin look.DSC_0124

Quick, successful projects are the best!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Feeling Grateful”

  1. Wow…that’s amazing about Ed’s blood pressure!!

    I totally love the daisy chain photo, adorable

    You’re brilliant for repairing Ed’s slippers….and he’s brilliant for loving you!

    1. Those bp numbers were thrilling to hear. Violet is a very photographic child. πŸ™‚ Heh, I must tell Ed he’s brilliant for loving me. πŸ™‚

  2. Good for Ed (and you) for taking charge of his health and making such good progress. So many of our health problems are lifestyle problems….

    1. As a whole we need to be pro-active about our well-being, as you say: take charge of our health.
      Where are those chocolate chip cookies I made last night…? πŸ˜‰

  3. What a good job you did repairing Ed’s slippers! I don’t know too many people who would take the time, or even have the skill, to fix something with a hole. We’re such a throw-away society. I myself have been guilty of tossing hand-knit socks because they got a hole in the heel. Now I am looking at the dark grey clouds outside my window and wishing we could have your nice weather. We had a ton of chilly rain today, with more promised tonight and tomorrow. Your sunny garden with bees and pea plants looks so inviting!

    1. This is the first time I’ve ever been inclined to mend slippers. Those felted slippers were so well made and, except for the soles, have many years of wear ahead of them. Ugh, you’ve had such a miserable winter, here’s wishing that Spring sunshine will finally come your way!

  4. Hi Wanda, I am slow coming out from the ‘end of school year’ cloud and saw you had posted 2 1/2 weeks ago and I hadn’t been over to read. I hope your weather has turned warm and sunny again. Those photos of the apple blossoms make me homesick for Oregon!

Comments are closed.