Egrets!

June. All is well here. When watching the weather reports I can’t help but feel grateful for the weather we’ve been having, even though May was a wet month and June has gotten off to a cool start we have nothing to complain about given that so many people have lost their homes and are dealing with ongoing tornadoes and flooding. My heart and prayers go out for them.

Our daughter-in-law’s beloved grandfather passed away on Friday. He’d been battling cancer but had wanted to live long enough for a huge family reunion that’s to take place in four weeks. (He and his wife had 13 kids – all but one still living.) Even now our son and family are driving straight through from Idaho to Kansas to be with the family and attend the funeral on Wednesday, then straight home so he can be at work on Saturday. It’s an 18 hour drive over the Rocky Mountains and across a portion of the prairies. I’m praying that the weather will be good.

Overall we’ve seen God’s hand in clearing the way for them to go. A week ago they thought they’d be moving this weekend but at the last minute the timing was pushed back by the buyer’s mortgage company; son hadn’t used any vacation time yet this year and was able to take off  Tuesday – Fri on a day’s notice without any problem. Faith graduated from kindergarten on Friday and Wesley was able to celebrate his 5th birthday yesterday as planned.

Most of our garden is planted. We still need to put in the green beans, beets, and squash but have been waiting for the ground to warm up more. I planted corn a week ago but no shoots have come through the ground yet. The potatoes, peas, carrots, greens, asparagus and tomatoes are doing well, except some animal nipped the top shoots of two tomato plants. Probably deer. Ed bought some liquid deer fence and sprayed around the garden yesterday so hopefully they’ll keep a distance.Paisley & Grandpa
Ed developed a new spindle size, a variation on the Aegean spindle. The Egret.
002
A picture of it (left) with an Aegean (middle) and Swan (right)Three Spindles

He worked on the design off and on for several months until he was happy the way it handled and spun. We’ve put pictures of the first ones he made on the website.  Right now Ed is concentrating on making spindles for Black Sheep Gathering, June 21 – 23, so there won’t be any updates on the website until after BSG, Instead, we will take spindle orders, to be made after Ed catches his breath from the show.

Yes, I’ve been spinning. And knitting. And weaving. Not actually weaving, I’m still in the warping process. Spent a few hours each day for the past 3 days calculating, weighing, measuring and warping.

Rather than make this an impossibly long post I’ve set a goal of posting every two to three days for awhile.

Meanwhile, a photo of  my Egret put to good use and a sampling of one of my latest projects:Egret Silk

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Egrets!”

  1. Congrats on the new Turkish; it looks lovely! Too bad I already have two Swans I can’t part with; not sure I can justify an Egret at this point. (But if you ever have a pretty vera Lark, I’d grab it!

  2. I think Spring passed us by this year but we have at last some much needed sunshine. We ( I mean Tony !!) have planted some veg but everything is so slow but hopefully things will catch up;we have such a short growing season up here .
    Love the new Turkish spindle and I have to say the one I bought off you is still my favourite one.

  3. The new spindles look wonderful! I’m going to see you both at BSG and I now have to add a second spindle to my to buy list. I was already planning on getting a Lark and it looks like I’ll have to get a beautiful Egret. I love the ones with the flowers. I think at some point in the future I’ll need to special order an Aegean or an Egret with some flowers and a ladybug 🙂

    I’m looking forward to meeting you both. It’s going to be quite the weekend.

    1. It’ll be great to see you at BSG! Be sure to introduce yourself, I’m horrible with remembering faces and names anymore. 😦 Ed needs to try his hand at ladybugs again!

  4. I love the flower detail!
    Not attending BSG this year…..sigh….
    but finally finished my 2 single balls of red bamboo on my support
    spindle. Each weighs 2 oz. Hoping to have a nice skein to enter in our
    county fair this year…….
    Our deer are brazen and ruthless…..they chomped the grape vine leaves and the cherry tree leaves…..also the pansies…..we have about a dozen deer that roam our streets here in town……the “gang”…..have a great JUNE!!!!

  5. Love the flowers on the spindle! Now it is my turn to be jealous of your green garden. We have our winter garden in, but it is oh so slow this time of year:)

Comments are closed.