Lit’l Red

The Columbia Gorge Fiber Festival in Hood River was good fun. Met lots of people, talked with people who are beginning to feel like old friends. I’m chagrined that names are so elusive in my memory. These smaller venues are more laid-back and relaxing, providing a bit more time to chat. But there’s still the need to always try to be “on” which an introvert is exhausting.

We pulled our Little Red T@B, in Ed’s little 4 cylinder Toyota pickup. The poor truck put in a valiant effort in pulling the rig up the hills leading to the county park where we set up camp.

We practically stumbled on Lit’l Red in January when we set out to find some sort of camping unit to use at shows. It was waiting for us at the very second RV place we visited.
The T@B is European but much more reasonable than the more common Teardrop. Even better, having been pre-owned it was a great price. Except we definitely need to find a bigger rig to pull it. We’re at the point where we want to have one vehicle instead of two so we’ll be on the lookout for a decent 6 cylinder rig that’s big enough for our needs but not a huge gas hog.

T@BTRU

When we pulled into the campground early Friday afternoon not another soul was in sight. Finding a space with an electrical box we set up camp. Only to find the electricity was still disconnected from the winter season – even though the park ranger had assured me there would be power when I called at the beginning of April.

T@B
By the time we returned Friday evening, after the first couple hours of open market, there was a pickup camper and a group of high schoolers in a ring of tents near their bus with two huge rafts tied on top. They were finishing up a week of river rafting with their teacher/mentor. Without electricity we turned in by 8pm both nights and sweetly slept in our little unit alongside the rushing river.

There’s much I wanted to write but I’m still very tired from the weekend. We’ll be moving at a somewhat slower pace this week. I spent a glorious hour weeding around the blueberry bushes and doing a bit of work getting the ground ready to garden. Ed built and planted an asparagus bed this afternoon. We’d like to plant as much as the early produce this week.
Please stay tuned for pictures of a finished product that I designed that I hope to eventually write out, update on progress with spinning on the Great Wheel, the different fiber I’ve been spinning on it, and my newest acquisition – thanks to Ed who insisted I needed one.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Lit’l Red”

  1. What an adventure, and what a cute camper!!! Looking forward to hearing more. No weeding for me, I got it done over the weekend and it’s SLEETING here today! We just keep re-living February… a good day to knit.

  2. I love your little red camper! I spent Monday afternoon tidying up our back yard, raking up the myriad of sticks and branches that rained down all winter from the trees around. My dog was sure I was out there for the sole purpose of playing games with her. She brought out all her toys that she’d hidden under the bushes. I can’t wait to see what you are going to show us! Yes, you do need a six-cylinder vehicle to pull a trailer.

  3. Oh Wanda!
    My, I didn’t realize that when I changed my email address, I neglected
    to change it on the WordPress list. We were so sick through all of April with that same horrible coughy fluey thing. Steve was not at the shop for 10 days, which is unheard of! Thankfully our son was able to take over.
    We are much on the mend and so now I am catching up on a few posts!
    Love the little shirt. Just adorable! The fabric turned out so, so wonderful!
    I am still on my “lace shawls for all my female family” project. Three years so far, but on the third-to-last one for my daughter in law.
    Off to clean house as this maid has been sorely neglectful of late!
    Have a great weekend.

  4. What a sweet little camper! It sounds like the perfect place to adjourn at the end of a busy day (this introvert sympathizes!). And I can’t wait to hear the rest of the update once you’re recovered 🙂

Comments are closed.