Sad News, Good News

The magnificence and memories of the two Sock Summits are a highlight of our life tied with fiber. We’d been looking forward to SS14; seeing so many people from around the world, selling our spindles to the happy throngs of people. It’s not possible to put into words what Sock Summit encompassed. This evening I read on both Yarn Harlot’s blog and Tina Newton’s blog that they made the very hard decision to dissolve their Knot Hysteria Productions which was responsible for Sock Summit (and other fiber retreats). Both of them worked tirelessly, along with their two teams of helpers and the numerous people behind the scenes, to pull off two incredible, fantastic Sock Summit events. It staggers my mind to even think about the myriad of details that had to come together almost seamlessly, working from two ends of the continent while juggling their own full time successful businesses and families. As a team they were formidable. I have no doubt that they will each continue on to be major players in the fiber world.

One of the things that makes me the saddest is that we won’t get to hang out with Jocelyn, the Knitting Linguist. Not only was she a hands-down terrific helper in our booth but Ed and I both enjoyed her companionship. (Oh my! You must see what she’s up too!)

It will be interesting to see what might rise up from the demise of the Sock Summit, as we know it. I suspect there might be some other event that gathers forces to fill the huge void that is left. With time a hole is almost always filled by something. (‘cepting holes in sock (clothes)! We know how those progress.)

On to happy news! 009
(Violet didn’t want to wait for the  cookie to have a pretty coating of Easter icing! I made royal icing for the sugar cookies that were boxed up and mailed to the grandkids in Idaho where they landed without nary a crack or break.)

Violet’s shirt fits! 🙂 As planned for room to grown, it’s a bit big.

034

054

Since Aurora didn’t want shoulder buttons I modified the pattern and instead kitchenered the two should ribbing bands. Without the extra room unbuttoning both shoulders pieces would have given — Violet hates having her head messed with — I decided a boat neck would provide a generous space for Violet’s head wide across the shoulders. Turns out the neck didn’t need to be so wide! There’s no problem getting her head through. 016The overall success of this shirt has me itching to warp up the loom and do some more weaving. Possibly within the next couple of weeks once a couple other pressing items are complete.

Yes, there’s been Walking Wheel spinning, it’s coming along quite nicely.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Sad News, Good News”

  1. I’m sad about Sock Summit too, even though I was never able to go. Violet’s shirt looks so soft; perfect against soft baby skin. I notice that the heels of her feet aren’t in the heels of her socks. Perhaps her feet are calling for some tiny handknit ones?

  2. You know what’s funny? That’s exactly what my first reaction was – now I can’t work with Wanda and Ed again! That was such a wonderful experience on so many levels – thank you for the gift of that sharing :).

    The shirt turned out beautifully (and such a happy model) – you are keeping me inspired to stay at my loom!

Comments are closed.