Walk with me Wednesday – Baby Steps

Heavy rains rolled in on gusts of wind this week but I still managed to do a bit of walking. Sort of. More like baby steps.

2013 started off with a string of sunny days and frosty ground. A wonderful reprieve from the seemingly endless rainy greys of December. It was wonderful to get out and walk almost daily last week.  Across the bridge,
037

Past a farm where young alfalfa shrugged off the frost in the sunlight.

040

Pampas grasses glowing in the early morning light caught my eye.

 

042

I’d planned to walk with the friend again Sunday afternoon before the coming rains descended but felt miserable again with all the symptoms of the cold that had threatened on New Years Eve: headache, stuffy nose, sore throat and tight chest. Drinking a cup of hot water with a spoonful of local honey and cinnamon first thing in the morning and continuing throughout the day (sometimes in steeped tea) seems to help.

Ed brought something into the house that cheered me immensely. Something that had been in the plans for months which he started working towards during the autumn months. But first he had to prepare his shop, make some forms and jigs and carve out time. Last week he devoted plenty of time to the making.
062Becoming acquainted

066

056No need to rush055
Baby steps will bring

060

New rhythms

058

The dance will come.003

Sunday afternoon I watched a number of youtube videos of people using a Great Wheel, also known as a Walking Wheel. A couple of favorites: Riverrim – Cynthia makes it look so easy and graceful; and LadyLilith who seems almost nonchalant in her ease; Frazzlehead for showing the spinning from the fold technique.

I’ll be writing about some of the making process details on our yarntools.com blog within the next few days but I wanted my faithful blog readers to be the first to know about Ed’s latest, and greatest :0 spinning tool.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Walk with me Wednesday – Baby Steps”

  1. Beautiful Wheel!! Wanda I hope you have as much fun working with this wheel as Ed did in the creation process. I’ve seen walking wheels being used and it’s awesome but never had the opportunity to try it out myself.

  2. Enjoyed your walk, beautiful images….could almost smell the fresh air!

    And VERY BIG SMILES from here, indeed, the dance will come!
    (and thanks for the honorable mention!)

  3. I know I’m very late with this comment but–wowzers! Ed, you rock!! I have a date with a friend at the end of January for my first lesson on her spinning wheel. I’m so excited to finally start learning. Enjoy your walking wheel!

  4. What an absolute beauty! That is a truly graceful wheel, and a real work of art. And it looks like you’re having some success spinning on it already. I can’t wait to see the results. (Also, I am sympathizing with your rain and lack of walking – I had big plans for an eight or ten mile walk today, but it’s pouring. I don’t mind shorter walks in the rain, but that’s nearly two hours of hard work – not much fun when wet…)

Comments are closed.